Thursday, March 31, 2011

Cat Thursday - March 31st



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

funny pictures - so... mebbe i shud put a quarter in or sumfing?
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Enquiring Minds Want to Know - Week 31



This is a fun meme hosted by Dollycas's Thoughts.


This feature will be open from Thursday at 12:01 A.M. and close on Monday at 11:59 P.M. to allow those that want to participate over the weekend the opportunity to do so when they have more time. So you may want to check back on Tuesday or check the previous week's link on Thursday to view everyone's answers.

WEEK 30 QUESTIONS


WEEK 31 QUESTIONS

1. Are you a bath or shower person?

My answer: Definitely a shower person - I love the feel of the water going all over me. Besides, my tub really isn't big enough and I'll never get out if I tried to lie down in it. LOL

2. Do you bathe/shower in the morning or at night?

My answer: Night, after I do my exercise DVD.

3. Do you have a hot tub or swimming pool?

My answer: No, we don't. I would need to put in a fence around my backyard first.

Funny Pictures - Cute Kittens
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Booking through Thursday - Oddest Reading Material



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

If you’re like me, you grew up reading everything under the sun, like the cereal boxes while you ate your breakfast, the newspapers held by strangers on the subway, the tabloid headlines at the grocery store.

What’s the oddest thing you’ve ever read? (You know, something NOT a book, magazine, short story, poem or article.)

My answer...

I actually don't have an answer. I always have a book in my pocketbook to read (or my Nook). I can't really remember reading anything strange out of desperation. There have been times on a plane during takeoff when I can't concentrate on my book so I'll read the airline magazine or safety instructions, but I don't think those are odd things.

What a boring answer I have this week. LOL

Theme Thursday - Animal



This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – Animal

This week I'm reading...



He was facing the most ugly, terrifying, ferocious animal she had ever seen. The Collared Peccary, a pig-like creature, had a large snout with razor sharp canine teeth.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

A Touch of Dead by Charlaine Harris




Genre: Paranormal
Publisher: Recorded Books
Format: Audio
Release Date: January 2010


This is a collection of short stories about Sookie Stackhouse. I think these were all featured in different anthologies, but were put together in one volume.

I loved the idea of all the short stories in one place. I loved listening to this in the car. Each story was originally released at a different time, so they are chronologically at different points in Sookie’s history, but they were really a lot of fun to listen to.

They also give you a little extra info that you don’t get in the regular books. Not much, but enough to fill in some of the gaps.

My favorite was the Christmas story. It was sweet and, for once, Sookie was left happy.




For reading challenge:

Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays - March 29th



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...



Feeling uneasy, Julia dared not turn around and see if she was followed but quickly picked up her pace. She quickly strode up the stairs of the hotel and ran headlong into the chest of a man standing near the door.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Better Together by Raymond Rose




Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Christopher Williams Books
Format: Ebook
Release Date: October 2010

Successful horror novelist, Paul Rhoads, hits a stumbling block in his career when he experiences a writer’s block. He decides a trip back to his hometown in Pennsylvania would be just the thing to clear his head and help him get his career back on track. Instead, he runs into his high school sweetheart and best friend, Annie, and he discovers the chemistry is as strong as ever.

Annie is the mother of an 8 month old boy Max. Her husband walked out on both of them. They are divorced now leaving Annie as a single mother with no help from her ex-husband at all. It doesn’t take long before Annie and Paul realize they still love each other and are still the very best of friends. They marry, give Max a true family and are as happy as they’ve ever been in their lives. Then, tragedy strikes. Annie dies in a freak car accident, leaving Paul and Max to grieve and find their way.

Paul attempts to contact Max’s biological father, but he wants nothing to do with the boy. It’s then that Paul makes the decision to raise Max on his own. It doesn’t take long for him to realize just how difficult that can be.

Raymond Rose creates a group of characters that can be found in anyone’s day-to-day life. They are all realistic, experiencing everyday problems that readers can identify with. Once I started reading, I couldn’t stop. There aren’t any bullets fired or chasing bad guys, it’s the story of a man desperate to provide a good life for his son after he loses the love of his life. He has to tack problems most single parents face today.

I found using the father’s point-of-view to be quite unique and intriguing. Readers will truly care about Paul and Max. Their plight tugs at the heartstrings. This is an emotional read, fast-paced story with believable characters.

Arc Reading Challenge 2011 Wrap Up!



I've been a busy beaver with all these review requests, so this turned out to be an easy one to complete for me. Next year I should probably try the next level. Well, we'll see next year. LOL

This challenge is hosted by Teddy Rose at So Many Precious Books, So Little Time.

I completed the Bronze Level and here's what I read...

1. Bloated Goat by Manley Peterson Click for review
2. How Sweet it Is by Sophie Gunn Click for review
3. Indefensible by Pamela Callow Click for review
4. Soul Sacrifice by Leonore Elliot Click for review
5. The Innocent by Vincent Zandri Click for review
6. The Wishing Hour by Jewel Adams Click for review
7. Stir Until Thoroughly Confused by Heather Wardell Click for review
8. Vestal Virgin by Suzanne Tyrpak Click for review
9. Capable of Murder by Brian Kavanaugh Click for review
10. Embroidered Corpse by Brian Kavanaugh Click for review
11. Anasazi Intrigue by Linda Weaver Clarke Click for review
12. Fatal Embrace by Aris Whittier Click for review

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Book Giveaway: Driftwood Cottage by Sherryl Woods



I've been lucky enough to be able to host a giveaway for Sherryl Woods' Driftwood Cottage. This is the 5th book in her Chesapeake series. I've been a longtime fan of Sherryl Woods so I am excited to be able to be part of this promotion. I will be doing a review of this book soon, but in the meantime, I'm hosting this giveaway.

Here's a synopsis of the book from Fantastic Fiction:

Single mom Heather Donovan's dreams of home and family are tantalizingly within reach when she settles in Chesapeake Shores. The welcoming arms of the boisterous, loving O'Brien clan embrace her and her son. But accepting their support seems to further alienate her son's father, Connor O'Brien. His parents' divorce and his career as a high-powered divorce attorney have left him jaded about marriage.

Then everything changes. Will the possibility of a future without Heather make Connor look at love and his career differently? Heather's just about given up on her old dreams - of love, of family and especially of Driftwood Cottage, the home she secretly wishes were hers. It's going to take a lot of persuasion - and some help from the O'Brien family - to make Heather believe that some dreams are worth fighting for.

'Sparks fly in a lively tale that is overflowing with family conflict and warmth and the possibility of rekindled love.' - Library Journal on Flowers on Main


This sounds like another good book by Sherryl Woods. Thanks to Magdalena at Planned TV Arts-Ruder Finn, I am able to giveaway a copy of this book. If you would like to enter, here's all you have to do...

1) Comment here that you want to be entered.

2) Leave a valid email address in your comment (I need a way to contact you! No email address, no entry!)

3) For an extra entry, follow my blog. If you already follow my blog, just mention that in your comment.

4) US and Canada residents only, no P.O. boxes.

5) For an additional entry: If you follow me on twitter, you'll get an extra entry. Just mention it in your comment!

6) Subscribe to my blog and mention that in the comments, too, for another entry! If you already subscribe, mention that in the comments!

7) If you blog about the giveaway on your blog, you get 2 extra entries!

All entries must be submitted by April 9th, midnight est. I will contact the winners by email. If I don't get a response within 3 days, another winner will be chosen.

All winners are picked by Random List.org.

Good luck everyone!

Anything Goes on Saturday - Tribute to Elizabeth Taylor



This is a new meme called "Anything Goes on Saturday". It's a chance to choose any topic you want and talk about it on Saturday - it can be about a book, TV show, movie, a recipe or just an update on your week. Whatever you choose.

I decided not to use Mr. Linky for this meme. If you'd like to join in, just comment and post your direct link to your post. Then, go and visit other blogs and see what's on everyone's minds this week. Enjoy!

Elizabeth Taylor passed away this week and I wanted to pay tribute to the beautiful actress. I figure the best way to do that is with pictures, so my post today is dedicated to Elizabeth Taylor.





Friday, March 25, 2011

Follow Friday Four Fill-in Fun Blog Hop - Week 5



This is a fun meme and it's hosted by Hilary at Feeling Beachie. Check out her lovely blog, if you'd like to participate.

This week’s co-host is Bernie from One Mixed Bag. She submitted the last two statements.

This week’s statements:


1) I can’t help it, but every time I see my husband (I know, it's corny but it's true) I smile.

2) Every time I smell movie theater popcorn (We used to go to the movies alot when I was a child. As an adult, we don't go much at all.) I am immediately transported back to my childhood.

3) When I was little I wanted to be a nurse.

4) If I had to eat only one meal for the rest of my life it would be lasagna (actually anything Italian will do - I love Italian food).

Book Blogger Hop - 3/25-3/28

Book Blogger Hop>


The blog hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books

This week's question comes from Mina who blogs at Mina Burrows:

"If you could physically put yourself into a book or series…which one would it be and why?"

My answer...this is a hard one because I have a couple of favorite series, but I narrowed it down to two...With both of them, I want to be the main character so I don't get killed off. LOL

James Patterson's Women's Murder Club Series. I love to solve mysteries...



and...the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris...who could resist vampires Bill and Eric?


The Friday 56



This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

It's that simple.

This week I'm reading...



From page 57 (page 56 was a page between chapters with just a title on it) of the ebook version... Sorry, but I always feel I need to give more than just the one sentence required :)

Paul had loved that his father drove a school bus. At first, he got picked on about it. Kids would poke him and yell, "Your daddy has to drive you to school!" but eventually, like all children, they forgot about their taunting and moved on to something better to torment."

Follow Friday 40 and Over



This a fun blog hop hosted by Java at Never Growing Old. It's for all bloggers over 40. Here are the rules...

1. Grab the button
2. Add your link to the list
3. Visit as many other blogs as you can
4. Follow the ones you like (and comment on their blog to say that you are following)

Sign up at Never Growing Old.

Funny Pictures - Cute Kittens
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Happy Kitten lolz!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Theme Thursday - Building



This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – Building

This week I'm reading...



He drove past the building, a monster of steel and modern design, and parked in a decaying slap of concrete parking garage two blocks away.

Enquiring Minds Want to Know - Week 30



This is a fun meme hosted by Dollycas's Thoughts.


This feature will be open from Thursday at 12:01 A.M. and close on Monday at 11:59 P.M. to allow those that want to participate over the weekend the opportunity to do so when they have more time. So you may want to check back on Tuesday or check the previous week's link on Thursday to view everyone's answers.

WEEK 30 QUESTIONS


WEEK 30 QUESTIONS

1. Have you ever traveled outside of the United States?

Yep, every year we go to a Caribbean island or Mexico. It's different all the time, but we love to travel.

2. If you could pack up today on a vacation and money was no issue where would you go?

I'd love to visit anywhere in Europe - Paris, Spain, England, Italy...or maybe go to all the European cities.

3. Is there somewhere in the United States that you have never been that you would like to visit?

I'd love to visit Hawaii.


Cat Thursday - March 24th



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

I thought this one was just too cute.

Funny Pictures - Cute Kittens
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Happy Kitten lolz!

Booking through Thursday - Series Or Stand Alones?



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

Series? Or Stand-alone books?

My answer...

It doesn't matter. I love both. On one hand, I love being absorbed into a series and re-visiting old favorites. It used to be my first choice to read series books, but now, I'll read anything with a good story.

Some of my favorite series books...Cedar Cove by Debbie Macomber, Women's Murder Club by James Patterson and many of the cozy mysteries I love so much are part of a continuing series. Do you have any favorites?

funny pictures - Of course I'm not up to anything.           ....would you mind taking two steps to the left and holding still for a moment?
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Happy Kitten lolz!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays - March 22nd



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...



He took a deep breath. "I have to admit that the thought of being responsible for a baby scares me. I worry if I'm mature enough."

Annie nodded back smiling. "You are, honey."

"That's just holding him or playing with him for a few minutes. I'm talking about the long haul."

"I'll be there too," she said with a reassuring smile.


Note: This might sound like it's from the end of the book, but it's only the beginning!

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Sunday Salon - Happy Spring!



If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, just click the button above.

Happy Spring everyone! It kind of still feels like winter because it's only 30F degrees, but that's okay. The sun is shining and I'm happy not to have rain or snow. It's the little things, I guess :)

I had a productive week...

I finished these books:

Dead and Gone by Charlaine Harris (Audio)
The Embroidered Corpse by Brian Kavanagh
Anasazi Intrigue by Linda Weaver Clarke

I enjoyed them all very much. I rarely ever finish three books (audio or not) in one week, but these were good, fast reads.

I started:

All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris (audio)
Better Together by Raymond M. Rose

I completed these reading challenges:

2011 E-Book Reading Challenge
2011 Audio Book Challenge

I seem to have become hooked on the TV show Bones. I'm watching the DVDs boxed set and I can't believe I didn't watch this show sooner. I should read the books that the show is based on by Kathy Reichs. There's just not enough time in the day to read everything I want :(

Now to see what this week brings...I hope good things for everyone!

Have a great week!


Funny Pictures - Maru Hair Gifs
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Happy Kitten lolz!

Indefensible Bookgiveaway Winner!



The book giveaway is over and I'm happy to announce we have a winner. With the help of the List Randomizer, the winner is....

Winnie


Congratulations to Winnie! An email has been sent out to her.

Thanks to everyone who participated.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

2011 E-Book Challenge Wrap Up!



I knew this would be a fun and easy challenge for me to do. Since I got my Nook in March 2010, I'm hooked on ebooks and that seems to be all I read these days. So, this challenge was easy and, if it's held next year, I'll go for the next level. It's hosted by La Coccinelle at The Ladybug Reads.

I'm did the Addicted level - 12 ebooks.

Here's what I read to complete the challenge...

1. Bloated Goat by Manley Peterson Click for review
2. Dewey Nine Lives by Vicki Myron Click for review
3. Soul Sacrifice by Leanore Elliot Click for review
4. The Innocent by Vincent Zandri Click for review
5. Kiss the Girls by James Patterson Click for review
6. The Wishing Hour by Jewel Adams Click for review
7. Stir Until Thoroughly Confused by Heather Wardell Click for review
8. Capable of Murder by Brian Kavanagh Click for review
9. Vestal Virgin by Suzanne TyrpakClick for review
10. Fatal Embrace by Aris Whittier Click for review
11. The Embroidered Corpse by Brian Kavanagh Click for review
12. Anasazi Intrigue by Linda Weaver Clarke Click for review

Anasazi Intrigue by Linda Weaver Clarke




Genre: Mystery, Adventure, Suspense
Format: EBook (available in paperback)
Publisher: American Book Publishing
Release Date: March 2010

This is the first book in “The Adventures of John and Julia Evans” series. There are two books already released with one on the way this May.

Reporter, Julia Evans, is shocked as an horrific flood destroys many homes in Santa Clara, Utah. As she prepares to write about this tragedy, she stumbles upon fish and cats that have been poisoned. She investigates to learn whether this was deliberate or a terrible accident. Being the low person on the totem pole at her newspaper, Julia has to fight for the assignment and prove herself.

With the help of her beloved husband, John, they go on a journey they never expected. Julia realizes there are some dangerous forces behind the mysterious poisoning and discovers, what could be, the story that will put her name on the map. The question becomes whether or not she and John will survive long enough for her to write the story.

This is the first book I’ve read by Linda Weaver Clarke and I’m already hooked. The first pages grab you right in and grab at your heartstrings as you read about the destruction caused by the flood. When Julia and John fight for their lives, readers will be on the edge of their seats for this one.

There’s also romance in the mix. John and Julia’s marriage is strong and they are quite supportive of each other. Even when they have their ups and downs, it’s not for long and they get right back into each other’s arms. It’s nice to see a relationship portrayed this way. Very realistic and believable. In fact, all the characters are portrayed realistically including their three daughters.

This series is a “must read” for me and I’m excited that there are still at least two more books to enjoy.



And...my Socrates Great Book Alert Award



Check out the interview I did with Linda Weaver Clarke where she discusses the series. Click here for the interview

For reading challenges:

Ebook Reading Challenge
ARC Reading Challenge
A to Z Reading Challenge

LinkWithin

www.bookreviewblogs.comParajunkee Design
The Animal Rescue Site

Visit BlogPaws Community
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...