Thursday, June 30, 2011

Booking Through Thursday - Size Matters



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

What’s the largest your personal library has ever been? What’s the greatest number of books you’ve ever owned at one time? (Estimates are fine.)

Is your collection NOW the biggest it’s ever been? Or have you down-sized?

What’s the fewest number of books you’ve ever owned (not counting your pre-reading years)?

My answer...

I've already said this before, my current TBR is over 10,000 books which is ridiculous. In recent weeks I've been downsizing. There are some books I'm never going to read at this point. As you can imagine, it takes years to get so many books and in those years my reading tastes have changed.

I'm in the process now of downsizing. I've donated books to my local library and other organizations and I haven't even made a dent in getting the TBR down. However, I'm going to keep at it and it will happen eventually.

The fewest books I ever had probably goes back to before I ever went online which would be the early 90's, late 80's. I had maybe 20 books in my TBR. Somewhat more manageable than it is now. LOL

Funny Pictures - Cute Kittens
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Theme Thursday - July 4th

Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – July 4th

This week I'm reading...



Connie stepped out onto the front deck. There was low-lying fog, typical of early July: How many times had the town had to cancel the Fourth of July fireworks?

Cat Thursday - June 30th



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

funny pictures - Is there any place on my face that says  "I love green beans" to u? HELL NO!
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

The Road by Cormac McCarthy


Genre:
Fiction

Format:
EBook

Publisher:
Vintage

Release Date:
March, 2007

This is the blurb from Fantastic Fiction:

A searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece.

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. They sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearting, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.

The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, “each the other's world entire,” are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, it is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation.

My review...

This book really tears at your heartstrings. It's fast-paced and moves along quickly, but reading about what the world has turned into after devastation strikes is heart-wrenching. Even though the father and son aren't referred to by name throughout the entire story, you still felt as if you knew them. It was actually depressing, although it's an extremely well-written book. Reading what people will do just to be able to live to the next day breaks your heart and even shocks you. It's a story of survival and hope.






Disclosure: I borrowed this book as an ebook from the library for a reading group. All opinions are my own.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays - June 28th



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week one of the books I'm reading...



In the morning they stood in the road and he and the boy argued about what to give the old man. In the end he didn't get much.

Monday, June 27, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! D This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

Last week, I finished...

On audio...



On my Nook...



and



This week I'm reading...

On my Nook...



On audio...



Next up...I'm not really sure yet.

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Ecstasy by Bella Andre




Genre:
Romance

Format:
EBook

Release Date:
February 2010

Charlie is a well-known popular published author of erotic romances. Candace is working hard to become just as successful in the same genre, but she’s a novice and needs help. When her favorite author offers his help, Candace is more than willing to accept it.

Charlie arranges his schedule to give Candace the lessons she needs to help her writing career. This means “on-the-job” training in the world of erotic romance. Charlie only meant to assist the aspiring author in her career, he never expects to fall in love with her.

Candace finds herself falling in love as well, but she’s also determined to be a successful writer. She betrays Charlie in her excitement to be an author. Can Charlie ever forgive her?

I’ve never read a Bella Andre book but I’ve heard so much about her books that I had to try one and this one was hot! Scalding, in fact! My ereader nearly melted. LOL! The book isn’t all about sex, there’s a storyline here, too, and it was very well written. I’ve already downloaded a few more books by this author. They are a nice diversion from the stress of a regular work day.

If sweet romances are your thing, don’t read this one. But, if you like your romances spicy, this one’s for you.

Disclosure: I got this book free from Kobo Books as a promo, not for a review. I’m reading and reviewing this on my own. All opinions are my own.




For reading Challenges…

2011 Show Me The Free Reading Challenge
Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge

Friday, June 24, 2011

Follow Friday Four Fill-in Fun Blog Hop - Week 17



This is a fun meme and it's hosted by Hilary at Feeling Beachie. Check out her lovely blog, if you'd like to participate.

This week’s statements

1. If you would have ever told me years ago that I now would still be working I would never have believed you (I'm way under retirement age, but I always thought I'd stop working and be a millionaire by now. LOL)

2. Diet Pepsi or Diet Coke is my beverage of choice

3. The last time I got a massage at a spa was a month ago when I was on vacation. I want another! (Massage and a vacation!)

4. Writing a book is one of the items on my bucket list

funny pictures - Some suffer from Narcolepsy.
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Thursday, June 23, 2011

The Friday 56



This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

It's that simple.

This week I'm reading...



Here's what's on page 56 in the ebook version...

He knew it couldn't have gas in it yet when he tilted it with his foot and let it fall back again there was a gentle slosh.

Follow Friday 40 and Over



This a fun blog hop hosted by Java at Never Growing Old. It's for all bloggers over 40. Here are the rules...

1. Grab the button
2. Add your link to the list
3. Visit as many other blogs as you can
4. Follow the ones you like (and comment on their blog to say that you are following)

Sign up at Never Growing Old.

funny pictures - Good news!   Your car isn't too crappy to steal!
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop




This is a brand new meme to display all those beautiful, funny, crazy and even those that make you think book covers you come across each week. I don't know about the rest of you, but I love looking at different book covers. You may not be able to judge a book by its cover, but they are sure fun to look at. So, if you'd like to join in the fun, all you have to do is...

1. Take the button at the top of this post and post it on your blog.

2. Chose a book cover of your choice and post it. (You can post as many covers as you'd like.)

3. Sign up with Mr. Linky below. Please use the url that links directly to your cover art post.

4. Visit other blogs on the list to see what covers they are featuring this week.

Instead of just one day, I thought I'd run this through the weekends - from Fridays to Mondays. That gives people more of a chance to blog hop.

Have fun!

This is a book I'm planning to read in the near future...



Booking through Thursday - Soundtrack



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

What, if any, kind of music do you listen to when you’re reading? (Given a choice, of course!)

My answer...

I don't listen to music when I'm reading. I much prefer silence. Of course that doesn't always happen for various reasons, but I enjoy books better when my concentration is focused just on the book.

Theme Thursday - Male Person

Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – Male Person

This week I'm reading...



He held the boy close to him. So thin. My heart, he said. My heart. But he knew that if he were a good father still it might well be as she had said. That the boy was all that stood between him and death.

Cat Thursday - June 23rd



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.


funny pictures - I'll take a mai tai and instead of the little umbrella,  could you just plop some goldfish in there?  Thanks!
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

The Summoner by Layton Green


Genre:
Suspense/Thriller

Publisher:
FirstWard Publishing

Release Date:
December 2010

A former American consulate, William Addison, mysteriously disappears during a religious ceremony in Zimbabwe, Africa. A Diplomatic Security special agent, Dominic Grey is assigned to investigate the situation and, hopefully, bring Addison home alive. He is forced to work with a local law enforcement agent, Zya Mashumba, who is not happy to have an American officer in her territory, not to mention she has a few secrets of her own.

Grey is stunned to discover that Addison might have been involved with a religious cult which practices sacrificing both animals and humans in the cruelest way possible. A religious phenomenologist, Viktor Radek, is called upon to assist in the search. Grey can’t believe his eyes when he watches one of the religious ceremonies and sees the unbelievable. When he begins receiving threats and Zya goes missing, it’s a race against the clock for Grey to find out who is behind these horrible events.

This is the first book in the Dominic Grey series and what a start it is! Talk about a book that will transport you to another world, this one does just that. Africa comes to life in this blockbuster book. This is truly a captivating novel that will keep readers on the edge-of-the-chair. The characters are a mixture of sympathetic, realistic and some that are truly vile. It’s an intense and sometimes disturbing look at pure evil, with a psychological twist thrown in. The excitement travels from page to page and this is one story that will stick with you way after you turn that last page.

Warning: There is quite a bit of violence in this book so it’s not for the feint of heart. The scenes all fit into the context of the story, but it might not be for everyone.

The second book in this series “The Egyptian” will be released August 27th as an ebook, with a paperback edition released a few months later. For the release weekend only, it will be on sale for only 99 cents as an ebook. “The Summoner” will also be on sale for 99 cents. That’s a steal!

I was so taken with this book that I’m giving it five kitties, plus my Socrates’ Great Book Alert Award.







FTC Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the author in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays - June 21st



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week one of the books I'm reading...




The only thing Dominic Grey knew for certain about the disappearance of William Addison was that it was the strangest case to which he had ever been assigned.

Sunday, June 19, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! D This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

Last week, I read...



I want to finish listening to...



and finish reading...




and probably will start...


LinkWithin

www.bookreviewblogs.comParajunkee Design
The Animal Rescue Site

Visit BlogPaws Community
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...