Friday, September 30, 2011

Follow Friday 40 and Over



This a fun blog hop hosted by Java at Never Growing Old. It's for all bloggers over 40. Here are the rules...

1. Grab the button
2. Add your link to the list
3. Visit as many other blogs as you can
4. Follow the ones you like (and comment on their blog to say that you are following)

Sign up at Never Growing Old.

funny pictures - I'll take my breakfast in bed at 8:00.  And make sure my orange juice is fresh squeezed this time.
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop




This is a brand new meme to display all those beautiful, funny, crazy and even those that make you think book covers you come across each week. I don't know about the rest of you, but I love looking at different book covers. You may not be able to judge a book by its cover, but they are sure fun to look at. So, if you'd like to join in the fun, all you have to do is...

1. Take the button at the top of this post and post it on your blog.

2. Chose a book cover of your choice and post it. (You can post as many covers as you'd like.)

3. Sign up with Mr. Linky below. Please use the url that links directly to your cover art post.

4. Visit other blogs on the list to see what covers they are featuring this week.

Instead of just one day, I thought I'd run this through the weekends - from Fridays to Mondays. That gives people more of a chance to blog hop.

Have fun!

I'm going to use the book cover from my current read...



I used to be a huge fan of Christina Dodd, but I haven't read many in recent years. Only because there have been so many different reading choices out there. Anyway, when this became available for download at my library I grabbed it. It's a good romantic suspense so far. It's the first book in a trilogy (three brothers).

Here's a brief synopsis from Fantastic Fiction:

Brooding and sexy Rafe Di Luca has returned to his family's luxurious vineyard resort for one reason: to find out who attacked his beloved grandmother. His homecoming stirs up a decades-old feud, forcing him to work with Brooke Petersson, the woman he once seduced and betrayed...but never forgot.

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Blog Tour: What Happens in Vegas by Natasha Deen




Genre:
Mystery

Format:
EBook

Publisher:
Wild Rose Press

Release Date:
August 2011



When Binda Morningstar’s boss, Nigel, disappears she goes directly to his brother’s house for help. She’s sure Nigel has met with foul play, but she’s taken aback at the sight of Nigel’s brother, Corin. Talk about a hot, sexy guy! Binda practically falls at his feet as she’s overcome by attraction for this man. Unfortunately, Corin wants nothing to do with Binda or his brother’s antics.

She tries to convince him that Nigel is mixed up with stolen jewels and mobsters, but Corin isn’t buying it. He’s sure his estranged brother is just faking the whole thing for attention. Then, Corin learns that Nigel’s wife, who happens to be Corin’s ex-wife, is also worried about his disappearance. He starts taking things a bit more seriously.

Much to Binda’s dismay, all three go in search of Nigel. She was hoping for some quality time with Corin alone, especially after stealing a kiss from the man. The last thing she wants is another woman hanging around, a woman who seems overly interested in her ex.

This is a quick, fast-paced read complete with a crazy cast of characters. You even get a little trip to Las Vegas as the threesome look for the missing Nigel. What Happins in Vegas has it all – mystery, romance, laugh out loud antics and a few twists thrown into the mix. This is a great way to spend a few hours after a busy day a work. It’s guaranteed to bring a smile to every reader’s face. I just wish it had been longer.




FTC Disclosure: Partners in Crime Blog Tours provided me with a copy of this book to review for the blog tour. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.





Author Bio:

When I was little, there was only one thing I wanted to be: a superhero. But there came a day when my dreams were broken, and that was the day I realized that being a klutz was not, in fact, a super power, and my super weakness for anything bright and shiny meant a magpie with self-control could easily defeat me in a battle of wills. I turned to writing as a way to sharpen my mental super-hero skills. I don’t get to orbit the earth in a space station (and thank God, because I get sick on merry go round), but I do get to say things like: “Stand aside! This is a job for Writing Girl!!”

Connect With Natasha:

Facebook
Twitter
Blog
Website

Theme Thursday - SORRY / FORGIVENESS

Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – SORRY / FORGIVENESS

This week I'm reading...



You look better than ever, and I've missed you more than life itself. My darling, I'm so sorry for the horrible way I've treated you. I am nothing without you, and all I want is to come home...to you.

Booking Through Thursday - Reading Aloud



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

1. What do you think of reading aloud/being read to? Does it bring back memories of your childhood? Your children’s childhood?

2. Does this affect the way you feel about audio books?

3. Do you now have times when you read aloud or are read to?

My answer:

I don't really remember being read to when I was a child. So, I was never really into being read to. It's just not something I grew up with.

I do listen to audio books though. Mainly because I have an hour of commuting time to and from work and I figure why waste time when I can be listening to a book. There are times it's difficult to concentrate and not every book works well in the audio version. I just try to choose books that will work for me in audio.

I don't read aloud to anyone. I don't have kids, but I'm thinking if I did, I would have read to them.

funny pictures - Inside the box
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Cat Thursday - September 29th



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

Funny Pictures - MemeCats: A Nap With Scumbag Cat
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays - September 27th



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...



How pathetic was she? Big-city college graduate with dreams of becoming a sports columnist for a famous city newspaper, wasting away in a small-time newsroom writing personal ads for desperate people looking to hook up. Even more pathetic was that the one she'd been working on before the phone rang was her own.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Musing Mondays - Giving up on a book




If you'd like to play along on Musing Mondays, just click the button above to join in.


This week’s musing asks…

What does it take for you to give up on a book you’re reading?

My answer...

In the *olden* days, I used to finish every book I picked up - good or bad. Today, I have too many books waiting to be read and/or reviewed to waste time reading something I'm not liking very much.

I give it about 50ish pages. If I don't care about the characters or even care about the plot, I'll put the book aside. I don't necessarily give up on it completely. I just put it aside and often I've gone back to reading it months later and ended up really liking the book.

Also, if I find I'm dragging myself through the book - almost forcing myself to get through each page, I know it's time to give it up. If I can find almost an excuse to put the book down and do something else, then the book is obviously not holding my attention (although that's not true all the time - often there are just real life things getting in the way of reading, we all have that happen).

Bottom line - If I can't get attached to the characters or the plot, it's time to give it up. If I find I'm bored and almost just "going through the motions of reading", it's time to give it up.

How about you?

funny pictures - Gawd! Can you please turn down  the Monday!! I'm trying to ignore it!!
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Sunday, September 25, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! D This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

Last week I finished...



The review will be posted later this week when I host the blog tour.

Currently reading



and on audio



Next up? I'm not sure, one of these I guess...





But, you never know. I could change my mind :) What's on your reading schedule?

Sunday Salon - Not A Good Reading Week



If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, just click the button above.

Somehow I fell into a reading slump this week. I started four or five different books and couldn't finish anything. I guess that happens sometimes. I figured the best way to get out of a reading slump is to go to my favorite genre - cozy mysteries. It worked! I started a review book Liver Let Die by Liz Lipperman and I'm totally enjoying this. It definitely took me out my slump. Plus I will have an interview with this author, so this should be fun.

My exciting news this week - I got a color Nook! I wasn't going to get one but I saw a great deal online and I grabbed it. I love it. Now I can even read at night without needing a book light. I haven't actually began reading on it since the cozy is a regular physical book and I'm still playing with the color Nook and getting to know it a little better.

I'm still in the process of copying some of my cozy reviews to my new cozy blog. That's been fun setting it up.

It's TV's premiere week this week and I have my TiVo set to record my old favorites plus try a few new shows. I'm behind on everything, so I haven't even watched everything yet, but I'm thrilled NCIS: LA is back. I just finished watching the season premiere and it was excellent. I forgot how much I love this show.

Last night we saw Roger Daltery (from The Who) in concert. It was so much fun and he puts on a great show. He did everything from the show Tommy plus some classics from The Who. He's amazing.

So, what have you all been up to this week? Watching premiere season TV? Reading anything good? What's up with everyone?

Hope you all have a great week!





funny pictures - An afternoon of gardening can be tiring...
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Friday, September 23, 2011

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop

Cover Art Weekend Blog Hop




This is a brand new meme to display all those beautiful, funny, crazy and even those that make you think book covers you come across each week. I don't know about the rest of you, but I love looking at different book covers. You may not be able to judge a book by its cover, but they are sure fun to look at. So, if you'd like to join in the fun, all you have to do is...

1. Take the button at the top of this post and post it on your blog.

2. Chose a book cover of your choice and post it. (You can post as many covers as you'd like.)

3. Sign up with Mr. Linky below. Please use the url that links directly to your cover art post.

4. Visit other blogs on the list to see what covers they are featuring this week.

Instead of just one day, I thought I'd run this through the weekends - from Fridays to Mondays. That gives people more of a chance to blog hop.

Have fun!

This week I'm using a book I just started for a review. I love cozy mystery covers because...well...they're cozy :)



Thursday, September 22, 2011

Booking Through Thursday - In Public



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

Do you carry books with you when you’re out and about in the world?

And, do you ever try to hide the covers?

My answer....

I carry a book everywhere - well, now I carry an ereader everywhere. You never know when you'll get stuck on a long line waiting and have nothing to do :)

I have to admit, years ago when I was more into romance books than I am now, I would hide covers. Some of the Harlequins would even get a bit raunchy. That's one of the great things about having an ereader - nobody sees the cover or sees what I'm reading.

Funny Pictures - Cat Gifs
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Theme Thursday - SOUND / MUSIC

Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – SOUND / MUSIC

This week I'm reading...



He pulls her in front of him and against him. They both start bobbing their heads to the music. There'll be time for the jumping around almost mosh pit of the punk concert later.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Cat Thursday - September 22nd



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

funny pictures - business cat's prime objective is to stay on top of the paperwork.
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Blog Tour: Guest Post by Author Bonnie Trachtenberg


The Top Five Lessons I Learned from My Bad Relationships


1. If you are always unsure if he cares for you, there’s probably good reason to worry. Now I’m not talking to the women out there who are irrationally insecure. I’m talking to women with normal to above average self-esteem, who just never know what their men are thinking or feeling with regards to their relationship. Maybe he’s stoic, the strong, silent type, but one thing I learned is that if a man can’t ever express his feelings in words or deeds, then there’s a good chance he’s just not capable of the healthy give and take of successful relationships. It took one of my boyfriends three years to finally tell me he loved me. Of course this was only prompted by a break up, and his lonely, two week trip through the wilds of Alaska. Needless to say this relationship never got to commitment and it’s a good thing, as we surely would have ended up a divorce statistic.

2. If things aren’t good now, they are only going to get worse. Nothing else spells doom like hearing a friend say that her bad relationship is going to be ratcheted up a few notches with an engagement. Why is it we so often kid ourselves that pushing harder to make our already deficient connection with someone more serious will miraculously turn it into a positive bond? Pushing will not take your relationship into healthy territory—it will probably edge it off the side of a cliff. My protagonist Rebecca in Wedlocked and I both learned this hard way!

3. When you start losing sight of yourself, you are with the wrong person. I remember taking stock of my life after I’d broken off a five year relationship with a very controlling and emotionally closed off man. I could barely recognize myself. I had let him suck out the energy that made me who I am, and I suddenly felt so out of touch with the true Bonnie; It shook me to my core. How could I not see what was happening for all those years? Maybe because he had drained me slowly, the level of my individuality sinking at a rate that was barely noticeable, but eventually cumulative. I remedied this quickly, signing up for ballet lessons, volunteering on a political campaign, spending quality time with good friends and doing what I knew made Bonnie, Bonnie!

4. If you find yourself drifting away from good friends, something’s wrong. Now I’m happy to say I was smart enough and strong enough never to lose friends over any man, but I have seen both women and men turn their backs on the support system they’d once enjoyed because the “mate” in their life egged them to do just that—and not necessarily in an obvious way. When someone manipulates you into isolating yourself from supportive friends and family, it’s because they are threatened by them. If they are threatened by them, then they are extremely insecure and not able to sustain a healthy relationship. Take this as a definite sign that you need to disengage and move on!

5. If things aren’t right, then breaking up sooner rather than later is always in your best interest. It’s pretty common for people to keep deficient mates in their life way past the statute of limitations good sense has for a bad relationship. But ask yourself these questions: Is familiarity keeping you together? His empty promises? You’re idealistic dreams? Or maybe, just plain and simple fear of the unknown? If so, take hold of the reins and hurdle past your dead end affair—it may just open the door to Mr. Right!

Monday, September 19, 2011

Blog Tour: Review of Wedlocked by Bonnie Trachtenberg



Genre:
Fiction

Format:
Ebook

Publisher:
iUniverse

Release Date:
June 2011

New Yorker Rebecca Ross has dreams. She dreams of being a big actress just like her grandmother had been, but Rebecca’s mother has her own dreams for her daughter. Acting isn’t one of them. Her mother wants to see all of her daughters married to nice Jewish men. Unfortunately for her, the girls all have minds of their own.

With the help of her cousin, Rebecca is cast in a movie and flies 3000 miles to Hollywood. Much to her mother’s dismay, Rebecca decides to make her home in California only to discover that being in a movie isn’t as exciting as she thought it would be. It doesn’t take long before she learns she’s just a small fish in a very large pond.

Not only does she lose her movie role, but she loses her new boyfriend in the process. Dejected, she returns home to New York and moves back with her parents. When she meets Craig Jacobs, Rebecca is sure her luck is about to change. After dating for a short time, they marry. Her mother is thrilled since he’s the nice Jewish boy she always envisioned for her daughter. However, Craig isn’t what he appears to be and things take a disastrous turn for the worst.

This book has everything – drama, humor, sadness and even some adventure tossed in. Wedlocked is a fast-paced book that makes you giggle and cry at the same time. Readers will be cheering for Rebecca and wanting to see things turn out right for her. For me, Rebecca is the star of the show and I didn’t want this book to end. I do hope to see more of Bonnie Trachtenberg’s work and, hopefully, another book with Rebecca. I want to make sure everything is going right for her :)




FTC Disclosure: A copy of this book was provided to me for a review by Tracee at Pump Up Your Book. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.



The author, Bonnie Trachtenberg, will be visiting Socrates’ Book Review Blog tomorrow. Stop by and see what she has to say!

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Sunday Salon - Weekends Go So Fast!



If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, just click the button above.

Two days just seem to fly by, don't they? I love my weekends, even when nothing special is going on. The weather is so lovely...a bit chilly with temps around 60's, but the sun is shining and that's always nice.

This week I finished two books...

The Undertaker by William F. Brown - Excellent thriller.
Wedlocked by Bonnie Trachtenberg - Blog tour starts tomorrow when my review will be posted :) On Tuesday the author will be guesting here with a blog post. So stay tuned!

I've been working more on my cozy blog, Socrates' Cozy Cafe. It's been fun setting things up and copying my cozy reviews from here to there. It's not finished yet, but I'm having fun doing it. If any of you are cozy authors and would like me to review and/or feature you over there, just send me email. I'd be happy to include you.

A few blog tours/interviews are schedules. They are listed in my sidebar.

The new TV season is about to begin and there are so many things I want to watch. I have to figure out a way to watch them and read too. LOL Somehow, I'll manage :)

I hope you all have a great week!

funny pictures - SUNDAY
see more Lolcats and funny pictures, and check out our Socially Awkward Penguin lolz!

The Undertaker by William F. Brown




Genre:
Suspense, Thriller

Publisher:
William F. Brown

Release Date:
January 2011

Format:
EBook

Computer programmer, Peter Talbott, is still grieving after the death of his beloved wife, Terri. Lonely, he buries himself in his work until one day he finds himself held at gunpoint by Gino Parini. Parini not only shoves a gun in his face, but he also shoves an obituary in his face. The problem? The obituary is Pete’s, but how could that be when he is very much alive? Then, Parini shows him Terri’s obituary, except this is not her original one. Of course Pete is confused. The obituaries feature their exact details, so it’s not as if it was someone else with the same name. The only difference is Pete isn’t dead and Terri didn’t die in an accident as the obit claims.

Pete is desperate to find out what is happening and why they are using his late wife this way. He begins an investigation which leads him across the globe from California to Ohio to Chicago to New York to Boston. He stumbles upon a plot so devious, he can’t even believe it’s real. He doesn’t know who to trust but someone is killing people and burying them under other people’s names. Pete can’t figure out why someone would do something so horrifying.

Talbott comes face to face with some of the most evil villains – corrupt sheriffs, sneaky politicians, nefarious lawyers and deadly mobsters. As he tries to discover who else has been wronged in this way, he meets up with Sandy. Her former husband was a victim as well, but now Sandy’s life is in danger, too. Can Pete save her? Can he save himself?

This book never rests and it never lets the reader rest. It’s a constant struggle to stop the bad guys from killing them or hurting anyone else. Talk about a heart-racing book, this one is it! It’s the type of book you just can’t put down, you want to keep going until the very end. The characters are crafted perfectly and the storyline keeps flowing from page to page. Fast-paced doesn’t even begin to describe it. Great drama, great adventure, great characters, and a great plot, what more do you need?








FTC Disclosure: The author provided me with a copy of this book to review. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

For reading challenge…

A to Z Reading Challenge

LinkWithin

www.bookreviewblogs.comParajunkee Design
The Animal Rescue Site

Visit BlogPaws Community
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...