Thursday, May 31, 2012

Booking Through Thursday - DIY



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

If you could write a book, what would it be about, and why? (Though, of course, some of you already HAVE.)

My answer...

Mine would be a fiction book and it would be a cozy mystery. Mainly because it's the genre I love and know the best. I've already begun one and just need to make the time to sit down and write. In the past I've written romances (nothing published), but I've switched my favorite genres :) I always think you should write what you know the best.

funny cat pictures - hello, hooman. remember me?
see more

Cat Thursday - May 31st



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

funny cat pictures - An ai has a happi
see more

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays - May 29th



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...



Nixon's big hands - fingers all oil-stained and as big as sausages - were hanging, doing nothing much. I hadn't had a good sausage in ages, or even a bad one, not that there's such a thing as a bad sausage, and was trying my hardest to actually remember the last time, when I became aware that Bernie was speaking. When Bernie talks, I listen and listen hard.

Sunday, May 27, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! D This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I finished reading...


I'm currently reading...




and listening to...




Next up?





What are you reading?

Sunday Salon - The final weekend of May!



If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, just click the button above.

What an absolutely beautiful weekend here in New York! We had some slight rain, but nothing to ruin this holiday weekend. I love three day weekends :)


I finished reading two books this week...click on the titles to check out my reviews of them.

Dead Locked by Amy Saunders
Shear Murder by Nancy J. Cohen

Both books were cozy mysteries and alot of fun. I enjoyed both of these.  I'm now reading another mystery.  It's the latest in the Bernie and Chet mystery series by Spencer Quinn called "A Fistful of Collars".  I love this series and this looks to be like another great addition to the series.

I did something crazy this week, but it couldn't be helped.  There was an online special for an original Kindle for only $49 (refurbished).  Okay, so I have a Nook Simple Touch, a Nook Color and a Kobo - I bought all during specials at great prices.  I couldn't resist a Kindle for such a great price and I'm glad I did.  It lets me format pdf files (which I get from Netgalley) so much easier than on the Nook.  Each of my ereaders has advantages and disadvantages.  I guess I just like technology :) 

Now that the TV season is over, I'm hoping to have more reading time (although I do have summer shows that I watch - can't wait for True Blood).

I hope everyone is having a great weekend and have a great week!

funny cat pictures - ur books r overdueteh fine is ur sole
see more


Saturday, May 26, 2012

Dead Locked by Amy Saunders





Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
EBook

Release Date:
March 2011








Imogen Bell finds herself captivated by the mystery of a lost pirate treasure. Unfortunately, her boyfriend Sebastian and the rest of her underwater archeology team don’t share in her fascination. When their boss, Peter, is murdered, Imogen is more determined than ever to find the treasure that he had believed in, but it’s not quite as easy as she thought it would be.

Sebastian fears for Imogen’s safety as it becomes more and more obvious that there is someone else after the alleged missing treasure. He begs Imogen to give up her search but she’s stubborn and continues her investigation. As she continues to look for the treasure and her boss’ killer, Imogen finds herself as the next target.

My only problem was that each chapter bounces back and forth between before Peter’s murder and after. I found the time shift to be a bit jarring. Even when I see this done in movies or on TV, I sometimes find it difficult to follow – but that’s just me. There’s a part that takes us back in history to the 18th century, which I found absolutely delightful.

Amy Saunders has created a real page-turner with this book. The mix of mystery and romance is lively and fun to read. The plot is fast-paced and readers will feel as if they are part of the adventure. Amy takes an 18th century romance and mixes it with a modern day romance which works beautifully. She has mastered the art of storytelling. You won’t want to put this one down.

I’m looking forward to reading more work by this author.







FTC Disclosure: The author provided me with a copy of this book to review. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.



For reading challenges:


2012 Ebook Reading Challenge
2012 Romantic Suspense Reading Challenge
Where Are You Reading? (Rhode Island)
Cruisin’ Thru The Cozies
2012 Self-Published Reading Challenge

Thursday, May 24, 2012

The Friday 56



This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

It's that simple.

This week I'm reading...


From page 56 of the ebook...

"That was quite the press conference," Mackenzie said, rubbing his hands together. "You might want to tone it down at the gala, though, or we'll have half the world coming here trying to find the jewel!"



Follow Friday Four Fill In Fun Blog Hop - Week 64



This is a fun meme and it's hosted by Hilary at Feeling Beachie. Check out her lovely blog, if you'd like to participate.

This week’s statements

This week’s statements:



1. After a long day, I like to kick off my shoes and rest in front of the computer and/or TV.

2. Soft Scrub (it cleans everything) is my favorite cleaning product

3. I can’t stand to watch American Idol or Dancing With the Stars.

4. I want to see the Avengers when I have time.

funny cat pictures - to the owner of the meowing car  your lights are on
see more

Booking Through Thursday - Pet Names



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

Do you have any pet that has a name inspired by your readings?

If not, what would you pick if you DID?

Do any of your friends have book-based names for their pets? (Or their children?)

My answer...

No, I don't but one of my cats' names was inspired by a TV character. Geiger is named after Jeffrey Geiger (Mandy Patinkin's character from Chicago Hope).

I don't have many reading friends, so anyone who named children or pets after fictitious characters usually named them after favorite TV or movie characters. I can't think of any book character I'd name a pet after - maybe Scarlet and Rhett (using the Gone With the Wind theme again - LOL).

funny cat pictures - Excuse me! Why did you put all this crap in my hot tub?
see more

Theme Thursday - FRIEND , Buddy, confidant, comrade etc

Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – FRIEND , Buddy, confidant, comrade etc

I'm reading....



"If you hurt one of my friends," she said in a clear voice that echoed in the vaulted room, "fear of Isaac Crewe's ghost will be the least of your problems!" A few of the journalists smirked, others panned their cameras onto her.


Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Cat Thursday - May 24th



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

funny cat pictures - Mittens later realized his mistake in not using conditioner
see more

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays - May 22nd



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...


"When are the lights coming back on?" Imogen whispered.

"Afraid of the dark?" Sebastian said.

She turned to glare at him, then realized he couldn't see her.

"I just like to see my hand in front of my face," she said with more irritation in her voice than intended.


Monday, May 21, 2012

Shear Murder by Nancy J. Cohen


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
Hardcover

Publisher:
Five Star

Release Date:
February 2012








Hairstylist Marla Shore is quite excited to be part of her friend Jill’s wedding party. Marla’s own wedding is scheduled for only a few weeks away, but she’s more than delighted to assist her friend. Of course Marla’s own schedule is impossible – between both weddings, moving to a new home, and expanding her hair salon – the last thing she needs is a murder investigation, but that’s exactly what’s thrown her way when Jill’s sister, Torrie, turns up dead at the wedding reception.

Jill begs Marla for her help in investigating the murder. After all, Marla has more experience than the police in investigating crimes these days. She discovers there were quite a few people who would want to kill Torrie, including her good friend Jill. Marla begins to step on many toes as she continues questioning all the suspects.

Meanwhile, Marla’s wedding draws closer and her fiancĂ©, Dalton, who happens to be a police detective, is getting angrier and angrier at her involvement in this murder case. Not to mention it becomes clear that Marla angered the wrong person and has now become the target of a killer. Will she even make it to her own wedding alive?

This is the tenth book of Nancy J. Cohen’s “A Bad Hair Day Mystery” series and I loved it! I haven’t read the previous nine books, which is unusual for me, but it really didn’t matter - at least not as far as the storyline went. I didn’t need the previous books to read this one, but I would like to read about Marla and Dalton’s relationship. Fortunately, I have the first book on my Nook and I’ll definitely be continuing from there.

Marla Shore is a likeable and strong heroine. Although scared for her safety, I did understand her motivation. I loved how Dalton stood behind her and was supportive. A great couple!

The story is laced with humor, romance and mystery. It’s a quick, fast-paced book set in beautiful South Florida. For a few hours, I felt like I was on vacation. It’s a great read to escape from everyday life. It will keep you smiling through the entire book.










FTC Disclosure: The author provided me with a copy of this book to review. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.



For reading challenges:

2012 Cozy Mystery Challenge

Musing Mondays - Before You Start Reading



If you'd like to play along on Musing Mondays, just click the button above to join in.





This week’s musing asks…

What do you do with the book before you start reading it?

My answer...

I check out the cover - both front and back. I check the last page to see how long it is (without reading any of the words - I hate spoilers in my books) and then I read the quotes and teaser in the front of the book. I like to get a good feel for the book before I start reading.

funny cat pictures - Waffles?!
see more

Book Giveaway Winner!


BOOK GIVEAWAY WINNER!!!

The winner of a copy of Murder in Devon by Maggi Anderson is

Alison F.

Congratulations Alison! An email has been sent to her.

Thanks to everyone for participating!



It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! D This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I finished reading...



I'm currently reading...


and listening to...




I'm not sure what I'm reading next, but I'm sure it will be a cozy review book :)


What are you reading?

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Follow Friday Four Fill In Fun Blog Hop - Week 63



This is a fun meme and it's hosted by Hilary at Feeling Beachie. Check out her lovely blog, if you'd like to participate.

This week’s statements

1. I like to avoid controversy if possible

2. Not stressing out is a virtue I do not have

3. Sometimes the little things are the best things

4. I think that chocolate chip cookies are the best cookies around.

funny cat pictures - please don't make me wear that collar with the little bell again.               i feel much more civilized like this.
see more

The Friday 56



This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

It's that simple.

This week I'm reading...






From page 56...

She'd like to call Jill, but didn't want to intrude.  Despite the tragedy, last evening was her friend's wedding night.

Booking Through Thursday - Live In



If you'd like to join in on Booking Through Thursday, just click the button above.



This week's question...

If you had to choose to live within a novel, which would it be?

My answer...

I'm going to go with an old favorite "Gone With the Wind". Why? The era was a difficult one, so it's not for an easy life. I have no idea why I'd want to live there except that I'd meet Rhett Butler and get to wear those beautiful gowns. LOL (It's also the first book I thought of when I read this question.)

funny cat pictures - I HAZ A KUMFEE...
see more

Theme Thursday - MOM , Grandmother, aunt, teacher (an elder women who deserves respect)


Theme Thursdays


This is a new meme hosted by kavyen at Reading between Pages.. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

* A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
* Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
* Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
* Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – MOM , Grandmother, aunt, teacher (an elder women who deserves respect)

I'm reading....



"Heck, sugar, sounds like both your mamas are being bullish."

"It's like a competition between them. We should have gone to Vegas and eloped."