Friday, November 30, 2012

Dead Running/Dying to Run by Cami Checketts Price Drop and Giveaway!

Just in Time for Christmas 
Dead Running - Dying to Run 
Price Drop & $20 Gift Card Giveaway







Dead Running



Cassidy Christensen is running.

Running from the mercenaries who killed her parents.

Running from a scheming redhead intent on making her life miserable.

Running from painful memories that sabotage her dreams of happiness.



With two very tempting men competing for her attention, she hopes she'll finally have someone to run to, but can she trust either of them? When secrets from her past threaten her family, Cassidy decides to stop running and fight for her future.



Dying to Run


Cassidy Christensen wants to run.



Captured by the traffickers who killed her mother, her only hope is Dr. Tattoo, a man she loves but nobody trusts. When she finally gets a chance to run, someone else she cares about is taken. Running might be her only chance at survival, but she won’t allow another family member to be killed in her place.



This must-read sequel to Dead Running will have you laughing, biting your nails, and hoping for more.





Purchase




Author Cami Checketts



Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and reading Bernstein Bears, she gets the chance to write fiction.



Cami graduated from Utah State University with a degree in Exercise Science. Cami teaches strength training classes at her local rec and shares healthy living tips on her fitness blog: http://fitnessformom.blogspot.com.



Cami and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn't snowing, she enjoys swimming, biking, running, and water-skiing.





Links




Upcoming Blog Tour




Price Drop Giveaway!

$20 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash from Author Cami Checketts

Ends 12/23/12

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Random House Hot Holiday Hop! Giveaway!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow Friday Four Fill In Fun Blog Hop - Week 88

Photobucket


This is a fun meme and it's hosted by Hilary at Feeling Beachie. Check out her lovely blog, if you'd like to participate.

This week’s statements

1. I have always dreamed of being a published author.

2. My family is my life.

3. I love to read when I finish blogging and answering email.

4. I will never forget the cats that I've lost with all my heart.




Comments by ZingerBug.com

2012 Audio Reading Challenge Wrap Up


I actually finished this challenge in August, but never posted a wrap up post. So, here it is. I'm hoping to sign up for this one again since I'm always listening to audio books on my way to and from work.

I completed the "Going Steady" level for 12 audio books. Here are the books I read...

1. My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler(Click for review.)
2.Shakespeare's Landlord by Charlaine Harris(Click for review)
3. I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron (Click for review)
4. I Remember Nothing and Other Reflections by Nora Ephron (Click for review)
5. Quitters, Inc. by Stephen King (Click for review.)
6. Chocolate Covered Murder by Leslie Meier (Click for review.)
7. This Time Together by Carol Burnett (Click for review.)
8. Whisker of Evil by Rita Mae Brown (Click for review.)
9. The Last Boy by Jane Leavy (Click for review.)
10. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris (Click for review.)
11. Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris (Click for review.)
12. Metro Girl by Janet Evanovich (Click for review.)

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Cat Thursday - November 29th



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.






Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Blog Tour: Curiosity Killed The Kat: Book 1 (A Katherine Flynn Novel)




Genre:
Romantic Suspense

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Bristlecone Books

Release Date:
June 2012




Katherine (“Kat”) was the perfect wife. She did everything her husband Steve Flynn asked of her from what she wore to their sex life. As long as she remained obedient, Kat and Steve were happy, or so she thought.

Thanks to Steve’s dominance over her, Kat’s relationship with her mother became virtually non-existent, she had no friends of her own and basically allows herself to be degraded in the bedroom. Kat is perfectly happy living this way until she uncovers and evil plot headed by her husband. When she discovers he’s in charge of human trafficking, her world crumbles around her. Her own life is in danger from the man she thought she loved. She quickly pulls herself together and takes back her life, but is she too late?

Talk about a fast-paced book – I read this book in one sitting. It’s the first book of a series and a very quick read. I absolutely could not put this book down, I had to know what secrets Kat would uncover and where they would lead. While Kat starts out being a slave to her husband, she grows right before the reader’s eyes and becomes a strong, independent woman. She’s someone the reader will care about and cheer. I will definitely be reading the next book which is already out.

Note: There are a couple of explicit sexual scenes. So if that bothers you, this might not be a good read for you.



FTC Disclosure: Premier Virtual Author Book Tours provided me with a copy of this book to review. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.




About The Author



Elizabeth wrote her first romance novel at age fifteen when she discovered writing about boys was way easier than actually talking to them. Since then, her flirting skills and relationship techniques have helped hundreds of others find their mojo. After earning a master's degree in secondary education from UNC, she worked abroad teaching English, bar-tended at late night clubs in Chicago, and continues various philanthropy projects that focus on empowering women. But she always returned to writing.


Though she'll forever be a free-spirit at heart, she now lives in Los Angeles with her two dogs. If she's not working on her latest sexy story, you can find her reading, watching reality television, or indulging in her unhealthy addiction to rock concerts.


Elizabeth's Facebook Page:

https://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.nelson.180625


Pinterest:

https://pinterest.com/bristleconebook/







Monday, November 26, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays - November 27th



If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...







Darla shook her head.  Bad enough that the feline was playing havoc with her hiring attempts.  The last thing she needed was Mr. Hell on Paws loose on the streets.  She'd have to put a stop to this, and soon.  Otherwise, who knew what sort of mayhem the cantankerous cat might cause?
 



It's Monday! What Are You Reading?



This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm currently reading...




I finished reading...





I'm still listening to....



Next up?






What's on your list?


Sunday, November 25, 2012

The Sunday Post - The Last Sunday of November


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

This is the first time I'm participating in this meme, but it looks like fun so I figured I'd give it a try.

It's been a stressful week for me personally, plus I've been sick with a very cold but I'm hoping next week will be better. I did manage to do some things with my blog to get my mind off things.

Blog Tours I Hosted

Tuesday - The Bloody Mary Club by Debbie Dyke

Friday - Bookmark Blitz Tour: Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play by Ellen M. Collier


Review for the Week

Playing with Poison by Cindy Blackburn


Challenges I Am Hosting for 2013

Cruisin' thru the Cozies

Finishing the Series

What An Animal Reading Challenge VI

Other Bloggers Challenges I Joined for 2013

The Foodies Read 2013

2013 E-Book Challenge

I'm planning to join a few more challenges, but nowhere near the amount I joined last year :)


Upcoming Blog Tour Next Week


November 28th

That's about it for me. What was your week like?



Saturday, November 24, 2012

2013 Ebook Challenge


The 2013 Ebook Challenge. Encouraging readers to expand past just physical books to embrace ebooks in all forms, whether on Kindle, Kobo, computer, or any other reader.

Challenge Guidelines:

This challenge will run from Jan 1, 2013 – Dec 31, 2013.
Anyone can join, you don’t need to be a blogger. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to sign-up in the comments. You can post reviews to any book site (i.e. Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Goodreads, etc).
Any genre or length of book counts, as long as it is in ebook format.
You can plan your books in advance or as you read them.
When you sign up in the linky, put the direct link to your post about joining the E-Book Reading Challenge.
You can move up levels, but no moving down.
Sign-ups will be open until Dec 15, 2013, so feel free to join at any time throughout the year.

Levels:

Floppy disk – 5 ebooks
CD – 10 ebooks
DVD – 25 ebooks
Memory stick – 50 ebooks
Hard drive – 75 ebooks
Server – 100 ebooks
Human brain – 150 ebooks

At the beginning of each month there will be a roundup post for you to add your reviews for that month. The linky will remain open for the remainder of the year, so if you forget, feel free go back and add them when you remember.

This challenge is hosted by Workaday Reads, click here to sign up.

I'm going with the DVD level of 25 ebooks. I'll list them here...

1. One Snowy Night Before Christmas by Pamela Fryer (Click here to read my review.)

2. Dangerous Relations by Marilyn Levinson (Click here to read my review.)

3. Five Years to Live by Frank Zaccari (Click here to read my review.)

4. Rally Round the Corpse by Hy Conrad (Click here to read my review.)

5. Dead Running/Dying to Run by Cami Checketts (Click here to read my review.)

6. Leaves by Michael Baron (Click here to read my review.)

7. Dangerous Deceptions by Cindy McDonald (Click here to read my review.)

8. Cliff Hanger by Amy Saunders (Click here to read my review.)

9. A Luring Murder by Stacy Verdick Case (Click here to read my review.)

10. Head Case by Jennifer Oko (Click here to read my review.)

11. Shuffle Up and Deal by Susan DiPlacido (Click here to read my review.)

12. Million Dollar Mistake by Meg Lacey (Click here to read my review.)

13. Secret Desire by Susan D. Taylor (Click here to read my review.)

14. A Bullet for Carlos by Giacomo Giammateo (Click here to read my review.)

15. Cross the Line by Jack Patterson (Click here to read my review.)

16. Payne & Misery by Catherine Leggitt (Click here to read my review.)

17. Topped Chef by Lucy Burdette (Click here to read my review.)

18. Lucky Bastard by Deborah Coonts (Click here to read my review.)

19. What A Mother Knows by Leslie Lehr (Click here to read my review.)

20. Steamed to Death by Peg Cochran (Click here to read my review.)

21. Fatal Descent by Beth Groundwater (Click here to read my review.)

22. Grim by Joseph Spencer (Click here to read my review.)

23. Restrike by Reba White Williams (Click here to read my review.)

24. Chemical Attraction by Christina Thompson (Click here to read my review.)

25. Affinities by Chris Hollis (Click here to read my review.)


The Foodie's Read 2013 Challenge


I'm starting to put together my reading challenges for 2013. I definitely won't be joining as many as I used to, but there are a few that have already caught my interest. I'm going to join up with the Foodie's Read 2013 reading challenge. Many of the cozy mysteries I read are set around some type of food. So, this should be fun.

Here are the details...

Many of us who love to eat also love to read. But we go beyond that. We love to read about food. If that is you, then you are invite to join us in the Foodies Read Challenge for 2013. This is the second year in which we’ll indulge ourselves with good food writing.

If you are new to a food/reading challenge, you may be wondering – what is a “food book”? A food book is a book which is centered around food and/or drinks. That could be a cookbook, a food biography or memoir, a non-fiction book focused around a specific food, wine, chef or restaurant. Also allowed is a fictional story in which food plays a major role.

Here’s how the challenge works:
1. Decide how many food books you want to read in 2013. Pick one of the reading levels below. Remember, this is a challenge, so try pushing yourself.

Levels:
Short-Order Cook: 1 to 3 books
Pastry Chef: 4 to 8 books
Sous-Chef: 9 to 13 books
Chef de Cuisine: 14 to 18
Cordon-Bleu Chef: More than 19

Vicki from I'd Rather Be At the Beach Reading is hosting this and she set up a great blog for this challenge. Just click here, if you'd like to join us.


I'm going with the Short-Order Cook level and will list my books here:

1.  Topped Chef by Lucy Burdette (Click here to read my review.)

2.  Steamed to Death by Peg Cochran (Click here to read my review.)

3.  Pinot Envy by Edward Finstein (Click here to read my review.)


E-Book Giveaway Winner!





The winner of the e-book Curveball by Jen Estes is....

Entry #14Suzan M.


Congrats to Suzan and thank you to all who participated!

Friday, November 23, 2012

Finishing the Series Reading Challenge 2013




I decided to host this challenge again, even though I made no headway at all last year with it. LOL Still, I love series books and I really need to catch up. I hope some of you will join in with me. Here's the info...

It's a challenge for all those series books you started at some point and haven't finished. I know I'll start a series and read the first book, then get distracted with other books and never get back to the series. Before I know it, the series has 10 books - I get overwhelmed and don't go back to it. Now, I want to finish a couple.

Here are the rules guidelines.

1) All books that are part of a continuing series qualify (i.e. Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove, Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, James Patterson's Alex Cross, etc. etc.)

2) It doesn't matter if you have 1 or 10 books in a series to complete it, it qualifies (i.e. if you only need to read one more Sookie Stackhouse book to complete the goal, that's fine) The goal is to complete a series from wherever you are up to until the last published book.

3) The qualification period is January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013. Books must be read during this time frame to count.

4) Take the button above and post about it. Use the Mr. Linky below to sign up and make sure you link it directly to your post about this challenge. (Note: I'm not going to be using the Finishing the Series Blog I created last year. I'm going to keep everything here.)

5) If you don't have a blog, that's fine. Just leave a comment to sign up and tell us what you are reading.

IF YOU WANT TO LINK UP YOUR REVIEWS OR, FOR THOSE WITHOUT A BLOG, LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW.

6) Any format of book counts - audio, ebook, etc.

7) You should choose the series you want to finish before the challenge begins, but it isn't necessary. It's fine to change series during the year - as long as you complete whichever series it is.

8) Choose a level....

Level 1 - Complete 1 series.
Level 2 - Complete 2 series.
Level 3 - Complete 3 or more series.

I'm going to try for Level 2 again. These are the two series I plan to read...

1) Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove (I need to read 3)
1022 Evergreen Place
1105 Yakima Street
1225 Christmas Tree Lane

2) Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum (I need to read 4)
Sizzling Sixteen
Smokin' Seventeen
Explosive Eighteen
Notorious Nineteen





Sign up link...




Completed reviews link...



Wrap up posts link...

Bookmark Blitz Tour: Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play by Ellen M. Collier





Blurb

"Boardwalk Empire" meets "The Great Gatsby" in this soft-boiled historical mystery, inspired by actual events. Rival gangs fight over booze and bars during Prohibition in 1920s Galveston: the "Sin City of the Southwest." Jazz Cross, a 21-year-old society reporter, feels caught between two clashing cultures: the seedy speakeasy underworld and the snooty social circles she covers in the Galveston Gazette.

During a night out with her best friend, Jazz witnesses a bar fight at the Oasis--a speakeasy secretly owned by her black-sheep half-brother, Sammy Cook. But when a big-shot banker with a hidden past collapses there and later dies, she suspects foul play. Was it an accident or a mob hit?

Soon handsome young Prohibition Agent James Burton raids the Oasis, threatening to shut it down if Sammy doesn't talk. Suspicious, he pursues Jazz but, despite her mixed feelings, she refuses to rat on Sammy. As turf wars escalate between two real-life Galveston gangs, Sammy is accused of murder. Jazz must risk her life and career to find the killer, exposing the dark side of Galveston's glittering society.

Excerpt

Why in the world was Agent Burton here? Everyone stopped working to watch him make his grand entrance. People don't usually parade around in a newsroom: They sort of shuffle or stumble or stomp—unless a story's really hot, then they'll run. I felt like running away too, but I stayed glued to my chair, pretending to work, my heart racing. What did he want from me?

Burton seemed to enjoy the attention as he headed my way. He was hard to ignore: Standing before me, all six feet-plus of golden skin and hair, he towered over my desk. Looking up, I noticed the curious eyes watching us in the too-quiet newsroom. The reporters stopped typing, fingers poised over keys, hoping for a scoop. My boss stared with unabashed interest.

"To what do I owe this disturbance?" I adjusted my cloche, acting nonchalant.

He grinned at me, then looked around the suddenly still office. "I need to ask you a few questions. Can we go somewhere private?"

"What do you want?" I put on a brave face so the newsboys wouldn't see me sweat.

Burton scanned the hushed room. "You really want to discuss it here, out in public?"

He had a point. Did I want the whole staff listening in on my private conversation? He probably wanted to discuss Sammy, who was no one else's business.

"Let's go outside," I agreed. Head down, I followed him past a leering Hank, feeling like a naughty kid going to the principal's office.

Nathan entered the newsroom, a camera slung over his shoulder, stopping to stare at Burton. "Jazz, is everything jake?"

"Everything's berries." I smiled to pacify him but, I admit, I had the jitters.

"I remember him. Your boyfriend?" Burton seemed amused.

"He's the staff photographer." I ignored his crack. "And a good friend."

Outside, I felt safe among the throng of people and automobiles passing by in a rush. The hustle and bustle of the streets and sidewalks seemed almost comforting. I looked around for Golliwog, our resident stray cat, but she must have been making her daily rounds for scraps.

"How was lunch?" In broad daylight, Burton didn't seem quite as menacing or intimidating. Besides, a group of hard-boiled reporters peered out the newsroom, spying on us.

"Fine." I covered my growling stomach. "What brings you here?"

"Sorry to barge in that way." He smiled, tugging on his hat. "But I had to get your attention. You wouldn't give me the time of day the other night."

"Can you blame me? A raid isn't exactly the best way to meet new people."

"I think we got off on the wrong foot." He stuck his hands in his pockets, jingling some change. "Perhaps we can talk over dinner, instead of standing out here on the sidewalk?"

"Dinner?" Was he serious? "Just like that?" I snapped my fingers. "You waltz in as if you owned the place—like you did at the Oasis—and expect me to dine out with you, a total stranger, because of your badge? You've got a lot of nerve, mister."

"I wouldn't be a Prohibition agent if I didn't." He looked smug. "How about tonight?"

"Tonight? I usually work late." I admit, I was curious. What did he really want?

"Every night?" He raised his brows. "Don't they let you off for good behavior?"

"For starters, I don't even know you and what I do know, I don't like at all." I squinted in the sun. "And I don't appreciate the way you bullied us at the Oasis. I thought people were innocent until proven guilty, not the other way around." I wasn't usually so bold and blunt with strangers, especially lawmen. Maybe it was his youth, or maybe I'd finally found my moxie.

"You must mean Sammy. Fair enough." He held up his hands. "If it makes you feel any better, my gun wasn't loaded that night."

"Small comfort now, after you scared everyone half to death." So it was all an act?

Burton looked down at his boots, as if reconsidering his options. "I hoped you could get to know me over dinner, but how about a quick bite now? I haven't eaten."

"Why not?" I nodded, not wanting to let on that I was famished.

Burton stopped at a sandwich vendor on the corner, and tried to pay for my lunch and Nehi, but I pulled out a quarter before he did. It wasn't a date!

"Where can we talk, in private?" He motioned towards the newsroom. "Away from prying eyes and ears."

Anxious, I led him towards a city park and we sat on opposite ends of a bench, my clutch bag like a barricade, keeping my distance.

"So what's the emergency? Why did you come by today, out of the blue? I hope I'm not under arrest!" I half-joked.

Buy Links

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords


Author Bio




Ellen Mansoor Collier is a Houston-based freelance magazine writer whose articles and essays have been published in several national magazines including: FAMILY CIRCLE, MODERN BRIDE, GLAMOUR, BIOGRAPHY, COSMOPOLITAN, COUNTRY ACCENTS, PLAYGIRL, etc. Several of her short stories (both mystery and romance) have appeared in WOMAN'S WORLD.

A flapper at heart, she’s the owner of DECODAME, specializing in Deco to retro vintage items (www.art-decodame.com). Formerly she's worked as a magazine editor/writer, and in advertising sales and public relations. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in Magazine Journalism. During college, she once worked as a cocktail waitress, a short-lived experience since she was clueless about cocktails. Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play is her first novel, inspired by real people and places. Currently, she’s working on the sequel.

"When you grow up in Houston, Galveston becomes like a second home. I had no idea this sleepy beach town had such a wild and colorful past until I began doing research, and became fascinated by the legends and stories of the 1920s. I love the glamour and excitment of The Jazz Age, but Prohibition was also such a dark and dangerous time in American history. Jazz isn’t a debutante or socialite, she’s a reporter caught in between the two halves of Galveston society, struggling to do the right thing despite all the temptations and decadence of the era."

Author Links

Website
Goodreads

Book Tour Schedule

November 23, 2012 - Authors Cafe
November 23, 2012 - Books, Books The Magical Fruit
November 24, 2012 - Callie's Comments
November 24, 2012 - A Chick Who Reads
November 25, 2012 - Welcome to she said, he said
November 25, 2012 - Oh, The Books You'll Read
November 26, 2012 - Nuts and Crisps
November 26, 2012 - Tattered Pages
November 27, 2012 - Just One More Chapter
November 27, 2012 - Love, Laughter, Friendship
November 28, 2012 - My Bookshelf
November 28, 2012 - WordWranglers
November 29, 2012 - Mochas, Mysteries and More
November 29, 2012 - From the Pen of Mae Clair
November 30, 2012 - Bitsy Bling Books
November 30, 2012 - Christine’s Words

Thursday, November 22, 2012

What An Animal Reading Challenge VI




The What an Animal Reading Challenge V ends on February 28, 2013. I'm starting the new challenge a bit earlier because I want the begin and end dates to be the same as my other challenges (it's easier for me to remember). So, the What An Animal Reading Challenge V will still end in February, so if you haven't completed it, you still have time. However, for anyone who wants to start the next animal reading challenge, What An Animal Reading Challenge VI will begin on January 1st. Read on for more details...

The rules are really simple...


1. Read at least 6 books that have any of the following requirements:


a. there is an animal in the title of the book

b. there is an animal on the cover of the book

c. an animal plays a major role in the book

d. a main character is (or turns into) an animal (define that however you'd like).

2. The animal can be any type of animal (real or fictitious)--dog, cat, monkey, wolf, snake, insect, hedgehog, aardvark...dragon, mermaid, centaur, vampire, werewolf...you get the idea...


3. Challenge runs from January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013. That’s a full year to read at least 6 books (you can read more if you’d like). 


4. Books can be fiction or nonfiction.


5. You may make a list of books at the beginning of the challenge or you can just list them as you find them.


6. Book titles may be swapped out at anytime (assuming you made a list to begin with).


7. Crossovers with other challenges are permitted and encouraged.


8. You don't have to have a blog or write a review, but you can if you want to.
 If you don't have a blog, just post in the comment section that you'd like to join. You can post your books in there.

9. Books can be in any format of your choice (print, audio, ebooks)

If you'd like to sign up, please use Mr. Linky below. I'm going to keep this challenge sign up here instead of using the What an Animal Reading Challenge blog I started last year. It's easier for me to keep them all here.

There will be one linky to sign up, one linky for completed reviews and one linky for completed challenge wrap up posts.

Sign up below to join the challenge!



Post your links for completed reviews below!



Post the link for your wrap up posts below



I will list what I read as I read them here...

1.  Trouble in the Tarot by Kari Lee Townsend (Click here to read my review.)
2. The Big Kitty by Claire Donally (Click here to read my review.)
3. Payne & Misery by Catherine Leggitt (Click here to read my review.)
4. A Killer Read by Erika Chase (Click here to read my review.)
5. Topped Chef by Lucy Burdette (Click here to read my review.)
6. Cat Trick by Sofie Kelly (Click here to read my review.)


Playing with Poison by Cindy Blackburn




Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Release Date:
October 2012

 

Best-selling author and pool shark Jessie Hewitt is beyond shocked when her neighbor’s fiancĂ© winds up dead on her couch. To make matters worse, she’s the prime suspect in the murder. As the cops confiscate her couch as part of their investigation, Jessie takes matters into her own hands. She has no intentions for going down for a murder she didn’t commit.

Jessie soon discovers that there were a few people who wanted the guy dead, including his fiancĂ© who happens to be a good friend of Jessie’s. For everyone’s sake, Jessie intends to find the real culprit, even though the handsome local detective Wilson Rye warns her to stay out of it.

This book is filled with everything I love about cozy mysteries – a quaint setting, quirky characters, and a fast-moving plot. The characters range from loving to quirky and a bit eccentric. Not to mention an ex-husband who I quickly hated.

It’s the first book in the author’s “A Cue Ball Mystery” series and I couldn’t put it down. It’s a fast-paced read with humor and mystery blended together to create the perfect story. I definitely have added the other two books to my shopping list. What a fun series. Oh – there’s even a cute white cat named Snowflake.



FTC Disclosure: The author provided me with a copy of this book to review. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Cat Thursday - November 22nd



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

Dedicated to My Beloved Socrates - We miss you!








Happy Thanksgiving!

Comments by ZingerBug.com






To Everyone Celebrating Today

Have a very Happy, Healthy and Safe Thanksgiving!

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Cruisin' thru the Cozies Reading Challenge 2013






Welcome to the third annual Cruisin' thru the Cozies Reading Challenge! I'm still loving the cozies and this is one of the few challenges I plan to continue hosting.

To find out exactly what a cozy mystery is, check out Cozy-Mystery.com. This site is dedicated to cozy mysteries and does a great job of defining them as well as giving a list of cozy mysteries. This challenge is NOT restricted to what is on their list, it's just to be used as a guideline in case you need some hints on what to read.

So, here are the rules...

1. Choose the level you wish to participate:

Level 1 - Snoop - Read at least 6 books

Level 2 - Investigator - Read 7-12 books

Level 3 - Super Sleuth - Read 13 or more books

2. The challenge runs from January 1, 2013 and ends December 31, 2013.

3. You don't have to choose your books in advance. If you do, you can change your list at any time during the year. Books can overlap with other challenges.

4. Books can be in any format - paper, audio, ebooks...it all counts!

5. You don't have to post a review, but I'm sure others would love to know about the books you are reading and may even want to add it to their reading lists.

NOTE: If you don't have a blog and want to participate, that's fine. You don't have to have a blog, just post in the comments section as you finish books. If you belong to a site like Goodreads and review the books there, that's fine too. Just leave us the link.

6. Take the button above, put it on your blog and post about the challenge. Then add your name to Mr. Linky below. Just click here. Please use the link of your challenge post, not the link to your home page.

7. I'm going to have one link for signing up, one link for completed reviews and one link for your wrap up posts. I won't be having a monthly link, just one for all reviews read for this challenge.

I'm not going to be using the Cruisin' thru the Cozies blog I started last year. I'm going to keep it simple with everything at this blog. Too many blogs was getting confusing :)

Have fun!

Sign up link...



Completed reviews link (all books must be read after 1/1/13).



Wrap up challenge posts link




As for me, I will be going to level 2 this year and will list my reads here...

1.  Cliff Hanger by Amy Saunders (Click here for my review.)

2.  Trouble in the Tarot by Kari Lee Townsend (Click here to read my review.)

3. The Big Kitty by Claire Donally (Click here to read my review.)

4. Payne & Misery by Catherine Leggitt (Click here to read my review.)

5. A Killer Read by Erika Chase (Click here to read my review.)

6. Topped Chef by Lucy Burdette (Click here to read my review.)

7. Killer in Crinolines by Duffy Brown (Click here to read my review.)

8. Cat Trick by Sofie Kelly (Click here to read my review.)

9. Steamed to Death by Peg Cochran (Click here to read my review.)

10. Murder of the Cat's Meow by Denise Swanson (Click here to read my review.)

11. The Corpse with the Golden Nose by Cathy Ace (Click here to read my review.)

12.Kneading to Die by Liz Mugavero (Click here to read my review.)

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

E-Book Giveaway Winner!




The winner of the e-book Bombshell by Mike Faricy is....

Entry #14Alison P.


Congrats to Alison and thank you to all who participated!