Thursday, July 30, 2015

Review: Death of an English Muffin by Victoria Hamilton


Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
Paperback

Publisher:
Berkley Prime Crime Mystery

Release Date:
July 2015

Book Giveaway Winner








The winner of Girl of My Dreams by Peter Davis is....

Karen M.

The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congratulations to Karen!

Thanks to all who participated.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Review: Agatha Raisin and the Deadly Dance by M.C. Beaton



Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
Audio

Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Release Date:
February 2013

Book Giveaway Winner







The winner of The Cake Therapist by Judith Fertig is....

Michelle W.

The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congratulations to Michelle!

Thanks to all who participated.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Spotlight/Giveaway: Just One Lie by Kyra Davis



About the Book

Genre: Romance, #2 in the Just One Night Series
Publisher: Gallery Books
Release Date: July 2015

Monday, July 27, 2015

Book Giveaway Winners







The winners of Death of an English Muffin by Victoria Hamilton are....

Ricki J.
Samantha M.

The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congratulations to Ricki and Samantha!

Thanks to all who participated.

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Sunday/Monday Posts - July 26th and 27th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Monday, July 20, 2015

Book Giveaway Winner



The winner of Somebody I Used To Know by David Bell is....

Betty W.

The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congratulations to Betty!

Thanks to all who participated.

Spotlight/Book Giveaway: Death of an English Muffin by Victoria Hamilton


About the Book

Genre: Cozy Mystery, #3 in A Merry Muffin Mystery Series
Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime Mystery
Release Date: July 2015

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Sunday/Monday Posts - July 19th and 20th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Review: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis




Genre:
Romance

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing

Release Date:
June 2015

Book Giveaway Winner


The winner of Toxic by Kim Karr is:

Marissa
 
The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congrats to Marissa!

Thanks to all who participated!

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Review: The Cottage Next Door by Georgia Bockoven


Genre:
Women’s Fiction, Romance

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
William Morrow Impulse

Release Date:
July 2015


Book Giveaway Winner



The winner of Peaches and Scream by Susan Furlong is....

Robin L.

Wow, this is Robin's lucky week.  Rafflecopter randomly chose her as our winner for this giveaway.

Congrats to Robin!

Thanks to all who participated.


Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Book Giveaway Winner


The winner of Locked, Loaded, & Lying by Sarah Andre is:

Robin L.


The winner has already been notified by e-mail.

Congrats to Robin!

Thanks to all who participated!

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Friday, July 10, 2015

Will Be Offline For A Bit

Just wanted to let you all know, I will be off the blog for a little while.  My father passed away this week and I need to spend time with my family right now.

I already had some posts pre-scheduled for tours.

The winner of the Freedom to Read Giveaway is Dotty K.  I will be mailing out her books as soon as I can.

Thank you all for your good thoughts, well wishes and prayers.  It's very much appreciated.

Yvonne

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Spotlight/Book Giveaway: Peaches and Scream by Susan Furlong



About the Book

Genre: Cozy Mystery, #1 in A Georgia Peach Mystery Series
Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime Mystery
Release Date: July 2015

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Promo: Mansion of Meows by Patricia Fry (Free today only!)


This is one of my favorite cozy mystery series and it has cats!  This one is the 9th book in the series and - today only - it's free on Amazon.

Buy Link:  Amazon

The 12th book will be released on August 1st!  If you haven't tried the series yet, today would be a good time to try it for free. 

About the Book


First Chapter Tuesdays/Teaser Tuesdays - July 7th


Every Tuesday Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, where we share the first paragraph or (a few) of a book we are reading or thinking about reading soon. Care to join us?

http://adailyrhythm.com/

If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading a book by one of my all time favorite authors.  It's been a long time since I read anything by Jill Shalvis and this is a good one so far...

Monday, July 6, 2015

Sunday, July 5, 2015

Sunday/Monday Posts - July 5th and 6th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Saturday, July 4, 2015

Review: Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate by M.C. Beaton

Genre:
Cozy Mystery

Format:
Audio

Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Release Date:
February 2013

Monthly Reads - June 2015


Goodbye June and Hello July!

I know we're always saying this but it's so true...time is just flying.  I can't believe it's the second half of the year already.  June wasn't a very good reading month for me.  I only read six books and three were audios.  Maybe July will be better.  Here's what I read in June...

So That Happened by Jon Cryer (audio)
Fat Cat Spreads Out by Janet Cantrell
When the Balls Drop by Brad Garrett (audio)
Dressed to Kill by Lynn Cahoon
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came by M.C. Beaton (audio)
Beach Town by Mary Kay Andrews





Friday, July 3, 2015

The Friday 56




This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.


It's that simple.

This week I'm reading ...

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop


Socrates' Book Reviews are happy to be participating in the Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop.  It is hosted by Mary at Bookhounds.  I'm giving away four cozy mysteries...just click on the cover to read about them on their Goodreads page...

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18079826-mr-monk-gets-on-board?ac=1https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21472504-bless-her-dead-little-heart?from_search=true&search_version=servicehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15985367-killer-in-crinolines?from_search=true&search_version=servicehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15808701-trouble-in-the-tarot?ac=1



To participate, there are a few simple rules...



1) You must fill out the rafflecopter form below.


2) Contest is open to anyone over 18 years old


3) US Residents Only


4) For one extra entry: Tweet about this giveaway.


5) For one extra entry: Follow this blog...old followers, too! Just let us know how you follow and under what name.


6) For one extra entry: Follow me on Twitter.


7) For one extra entry: Follow or friend me on Goodreads


No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited.


The giveaway begins on July 2nd and ends on July 9th (midnight est).


The winner will be chosen randomly by Rafflecopter. The winner will be notified by email and has 48 hours to respond, otherwise a new winner will be chosen. I will announce the winner here on my blog.


Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway




<!-- end LinkyTools script –>




Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Cat Thursday - July 2nd



Welcome to the weekly meme that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy! This fun meme is hosted by The True Book Addict. Go over to her site to join in the fun.

Waiting on Wednesday - July 1st



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This looks like a good new cozy mystery.  The first in a series.