Saturday, July 20, 2019

The Weekend Review - July 20th - July 22nd





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now being hosted by Deb at Readerbuzz.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Spotlight: A Genuine Fix (An Allie Cobb Mystery) by J.C. Kenney (Blog Tour/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

A Genuine Fix
(An Allie Cobb Mystery)
by J.C. Kenney


Thursday, July 18, 2019

Review: Time of My Life by Laura Heffernan


Genre:
Romance

Format:
E-Book

Publisher:
Wild Rose Creative Content

Release Date:
June 3, 2019








Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Review: Murder's No Votive Confidence (Nantucket Candle Maker Mystery) by Christin Brecher (Blog Tour/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Murder's No Votive Confidence
(Nantucket Candle Maker Mystery)
by Christin Brecher


About the Book 



Murder's No Votive Confidence (Nantucket Candle Maker Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Kensington (June 25, 2019)
ISBN-10: 149672139X
ISBN-13: 978-1496721396
Digital ASIN: B07HVYJNRD

Nantucket candle store owner Stella Wright specializes in creating unique candles for every occasion. But someone sets the stage for murder when a Memorial Day celebration becomes a wedding to die for . . .
Jessica Sterling’s candlelight-themed nuptials promises to be the perfect kick-off to the summer’s first official holiday weekend. Stella’s thrilled to have been chosen to provide the decorative centerpiece for the wedding ceremony: a two-foot-tall scented unity candle—a symbol of the happy couple’s love. But it looks like the bride-to-be’s uncle won’t be walking his niece down the aisle after he’s found dead. The murder weapon is Stella’s seemingly indestructible candle, now split in two.
When a beloved local bartender is arrested, Stella’s sure a visiting police captain running the case made a rush to justice. With superstitious brides-to-be canceling orders and sales waxing and waning at her store, the Wick & Flame owner decides to do some sleuthing of her own. Abetted by a charming reporter and challenged by the town’s sexiest cop, Stella’s determined to shine a light on the truth and uncover a killer who’s snuffing out her own flame.
My Review

It’s Memorial Day in Nantucket and candle store owner Stella Wright is hired to create candles for a huge wedding. It’s a dream come true for Stella, but things take a nasty turn when the bride’s uncle is murdered before he can walk her down the aisle. Oddly enough, the murder weapon is one of Stella’s candles.

Stella is stunned when a local bartender is arrested for the murder. She’s sure he would never kill anyone and she intends to prove it. She’s even more motivated when her customers start canceling their candle orders when they learn it was used as a murder weapon.

The local police detective is not happy to have Stella sticking her nose into his business, to say the least. However, she has no intention of backing down.

This is a great start to a new cozy mystery series. I liked Stella right from the start. She’s strong, although a bit nosy but aren’t all amateur sleuths? The cast of characters are interesting and quirky.

It’s a fast-paced story and I was surprised at how it all ended up. The author did a good job of giving several different possibilities of whodunit. She kept me thinking until very near the end. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series.


For reading challenges:
Cruisin’ thru the Cozies Reading Challenge 2019
Literary Escapes Reading Challenge 2019 (Massachusetts)
Cloak & Dagger Reading Challenge 2019

FTC Disclosure: I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.


About the Author


Christin Brecher was born and raised in NYC, where her family and many childhood friends still reside. As such, she feels she is as much of a small-town girl as any. The idea to write the Nantucket Candle Maker series sprang from her life-long connection to the small island off the coast of Massachusetts. Spending summers there as a child, Christin read from her family’s library of mystery novels, after which she began to imagine stories inspired by the island’s whaling heyday, its notoriously foggy nights, and during long bike rides to the beach. After many years in marketing for the publishing industry, followed by years raising her children, Murder’s No Votive Confidence is Christin’s debut novel. Visit her at www.christinbrecher.com.

Author Links 

Purchase Links - Amazon - B&N - Kobo - BAM -

IndieBound - Hudson Booksellers - Google Play 

Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS

July 8 – The Power of Words – REVIEW

July 8 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 8 – Books Direct – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 8 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

July 9 – The Book Decoder – REVIEW

July 9 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

July 9 – A Blue Million Books – GUEST POST

July 9 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW  

July 10 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 10 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 10 – The Avid Reader  REVIEW

July 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 11 – Babs Book Bistro - Candle Making 101 Notes Post

July 12 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW  

July 12 – A Holland Reads – REVIEW

July 12 – Elizabeth McKenna - Author – SPOTLIGHT

July 13 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 13 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 14 – StoreyBook Reviews – REVIEW

July 14 – Cozy Up With Kathy - REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 15 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

July 15 – The Book Diva's Reads – CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 15 – Readeropolis – SPOTLIGHT

July 16 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 16 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

July 16 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 17 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

July 17 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW, GUEST POST  


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?








Monday, July 1, 2019

Spotlight: The Oceanic Dreams Series - Romantic Comedies #OceanicDreams


I'm always looking for good beach reads and I was delighted to "discover" this romantic comedy series.  There are eight books by 8 different authors.  I'm planning to spend my summer reading every one of them.  Check out the series...


Sunday, June 30, 2019

The Weekend Review - June 29th - July 1st





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now being hosted by Deb at Readerbuzz.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Thursday, June 27, 2019

Review: One More Lie by Amy Lloyd (Blog Tour)


About the Book

Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Release Date: May 28, 2019 (First published February 2019)

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Spotlight: Harry's Trees by Jon Cohen


About the Book

Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Mira Books
Release Date: June 25, 2019 (First published June 12, 2018)

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Spotlight: Strangled Eggs and Ham (A Country Store Mystery) by Maddie Day (Blog Tour/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Strangled Eggs and Ham
(A Country Store Mystery)
by Maddie Day


About the Book



Strangled Eggs and Ham (A Country Store Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
6th in Series
Kensington (June 25, 2019)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1496711254
ISBN-13: 978-1496711250
Digital ASIN: B07HW1D15K

Robbie Jordan’s rustic country store is growing in popularity. But when a dead body appears, it turns out that Robbie’s home-style cooking attracts hungry customers—and murder!
While Robbie scrambles through breakfast orders for her expanding clientele at Pans ‘N Pancakes, tempers run as high as the sticky August heat in South Lick, Indiana. Real-estate developer Fiona Closs plans to build a towering luxury resort at one of the most scenic hilltops in Brown County, and not everyone can see the sunny side of the imposing proposition—including Robbie’s furious Aunt Adele, who doesn’t waste a minute concocting protests and road blockades. When tensions boil over and a vocal protester is silenced forever at the resort site, Robbie ditches the griddle to catch the killer. But if slashed tires are any indication, she’ll need to crack this case before her own aunt gets served something deadly next . . .
Includes Recipes for You to Try!

About the Author


Maddie Day is a talented amateur chef and holds a Ph.D. in linguistics from Indiana University. An Agatha Award-nominated author, she is a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America and also writes award-winning short crime fiction. She lives with her beau and three cats in Massachusetts.

As Edith Maxwell, she writes the Local Foods Mysteries (Kensington Publishing) and the Quaker Midwife Mysteries (Midnight Ink).

You can find all Maddie’s/Edith’s identities at www.edithmaxwell.com. She blogs every weekday with the other Wicked Cozy Authors at wickedcozyauthors.com. Look for her as Edith M. Maxwell and Maddie Day on Facebook and @edithmaxwell and @maddiedayauthor on Twitter.

Purchase Links


Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS

June 24 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW, EXCERPT

June 24 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews - REVIEW

June 24 – ⒾⓃⓉⓇⓄⓈⓅⒺⒸⓉⒾⓋⒺ ⓅⓇⒺⓈⓈ - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

June 25 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW

June 25 – Socrates Book Reviews - SPOTLIGHT

June 25 – ❧Defining Ways❧ - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

June 26 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews - REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 26 – Celticlady's Reviews - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

June 26 – Author Teresa Watson – CHARACTER INTERVIEW  

June 27 – The Avid Reader - REVIEW, EXCERPT

June 27 – Reading Is My SuperPower - REVIEW

June 27 – MJB Reviewers – REVIEW

June 28 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

June 28 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER GUEST POST

June 28 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

June 29 – StoreyBook Reviews - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

June 29 – 4covert2overt ☼ A Place In The Spotlight ☼ - GUEST POST

June 30 - Carla Loves To Read – REVIEW

June 30 - Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

July 1 – Sapphyria's Books – REVIEW

July 1 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog – REVIEW

July 1 – I'm All About Books – GUEST POST

July 2 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 2 – Brooke Blogs - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

July 3 – Curling up by the Fire - REVIEW

July 3 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW  

July 3 – The Cozy Pages - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!


Saturday, June 22, 2019

The Weekend Review - June 22nd - 24th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now being hosted by Deb at Readerbuzz.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Monday, June 17, 2019

Spotlight: The Summer Guests by Mary Alice Monroe



THE SUMMER GUESTS
by
New York Times Bestselling Author
MARY ALICE MONROE
On Sale: June 11, 2019

Saturday, June 15, 2019

The Weekend Review - June 15th - 17th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now being hosted by Deb at Readerbuzz.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.