Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Blog Tour: Legal Ease by Lori Ryan (Guest Blog/Giveaway)

Legal Ease (Sutton Capital #1)
by Lori Ryan

Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Publisher: Self/Indie
Release Date: April 18, 2013
Heat Level: Steamy
Length: 150 pages

Available at:



Jack Sutton is a man who's used to getting his way. So when his mother's will forces his hand, he does the only thing he can. Jack cuts a deal with the confident, sexy law school student who walks into his office with a proposition he can't refuse.

The deal may have kept Jack in control at Sutton Capital but his private life quickly spirals out of control. Just when Jack realizes that he wants more than a year with Kelly, his wealth puts her in great danger and he is left scrambling to save her life and their future together.

Warning: This title is intended for readers over the age of 18 as it contains adult sexual situations and/or adult language, and may be considered offensive to some readers.

"Breathless" "Couldn't put it down" "Captivating and steamy" "Loved it!!!!!"

With 4.6 of 5 stars on Amazon reviews, you can't go wrong with this new romance novel by Lori Ryan. Fans of Bella Andre or Marie Force will love the first installment of this new romance series!


“Jack, darling…” Jack’s Aunt Mabry breezed into the room. “I’ve decided to redo my kitchen and the downstairs floor of my townhouse. Chad has a friend staying with him right now so I need to stay at your place for a few weeks until my kitchen is completed.”

Jack had to work to keep from rolling his eyes. He knew perfectly well what Aunt Mabry was doing. She wanted to spy on him and Kelly. There was no way she’d be redoing her kitchen if she didn’t want an excuse to stay with him. And she would normally stay at the Omni downtown or at a spa by the water instead of with him. She had never stayed at his house before, not for a day in his life, even when his mother was alive.

She was spying. He was sure of it. His mind filtered through the excuses he could give her but when he quickly weighed all of the factors, he decided it was best to just let her move in for a bit to get her off their backs. Besides, if his aunt were around he and Kelly would have to pretend to be husband and wife a lot more often, and he liked pretending that where Kelly was concerned.

With unexpected enthusiasm, Jack smiled and said, “Sure thing, Aunt Mabry. You’re welcome anytime. When do you need to move in?”

“Right now,” she said with a Cheshire Cat grin. “I’ll just head over there right now.”

With that announcement, she walked out of the office as breezily as she had waltzed in. Jack stared after her for a minute when suddenly it dawned on him. Kelly and he didn’t share a room. Oh, hell. His aunt wouldn’t buy the happily-ever-after marriage if she found out he and Kelly didn’t share a room. He grabbed the phone to try to catch Kelly or Mrs. Poole in time to warn them.


Kelly whipped through the house and up the stairs, calling out for Mrs. Poole as she ran. “Mrs. Poole, come quickly! We have to move. We have to move.” Kelly continued yelling as she ran into her room and grabbed drawers full of clothes and piled hangers with slacks and dresses on them.

Mrs. Poole came up the stairs with a puzzled look on her face. “What on earth are you hollering about, Kelly?” she said as she tried to enter the room. She had to jump out of the way as Kelly made a mad dash to Jack’s room.

“We have to move all of my stuff into Jack’s room,” Kelly said, out of breath from her packing and running. “Jack’s Aunt Mabry is on her way here and she’s staying with us for a couple of weeks,” Kelly blurted out as she ran back down the hall to gather more of her belongings.

“Oh Lord,” Mrs. Poole rolled her eyes and followed after Kelly. She quickly grabbed clothes and toiletries and rushed down the hall to Jack’s room. She and Kelly repeated the trip half a dozen more times as they transferred everything and set it into place. Mrs. Poole cleared out half of Jack’s dresser and closet and made room for Kelly’s things while Kelly folded and put her clothing away to make it appear as though the two had been living in holy matrimony since day one.

Kelly put away the last of her things and took a deep breath. She turned to survey the masculine-looking room. There was a dark mahogany dresser and matching armoire against the deep green walls. Large windows looked out on the same beautiful waterfront view that her guest room windows had shared. She stopped suddenly and held her breath when her eyes landed on the king-sized bed in the center. Until that moment, it hadn’t occurred to her that she and Jack would now have to share a bed. Kelly’s smile fell away as she realized that keeping her attraction hidden from Jack just became a lot more difficult.

About the Author

Lori is an award winning author and stay-at-home mom. Her second book, Penalty Clause, won first place in the romance category in Lcuky Cinda Publishing’s Annual Global Writer’s Contest in 2013.

Lori has had a number of careers before embarking on her newest adventure of writing novels. After graduating from the University of Connecticut School of Law, she practiced law for three years, working primarily in the areas of utilities law and intellectual property litigation.

More recently, Lori owned and operated a dog training business in Austin, Texas, where she specialized in aggression and became an expert in the field of dog bite analysis. Lori sold her dog training business in 2013 and is now a full time writer and mother of two.

Lori still lives in Austin with her husband -- who is endlessly supportive of her changing career paths -- and her two children, one cat, and three dogs.

Connect with Lori Ryan

Amazon Author Page
Mailing List

Want to be a part of Lori’s online street team? Email her at Loriryanauthor@gmail.com and put the words ‘street team’ in the subject line. She’ll email you back with directions for joining her team.

Guest Blog

A few of my Favorite Series and Why I Love ‘Em!

I’m a series kinda girl. I love to find a series I love and plow through it as quickly as I can. The best is when you find a series that’ already been written so you don’t have to wait for the next book to come out. You can just read to your heart’s content, even if it is two in the morning.
So, here are a few of my favorites!

The first series I read was Virgin River by Robyn Carr. Talk about being spoiled. It has twenty-some books in it, setting my expectations for future series pretty high. I loved the small town feel of this series and grew really attached to so many of the characters. To me, reading a new Virgin River book is like coming home. If you haven’t picked this one up yet, check them out. You’ll be hooked on Jack’s place and Preacher and the guys before you know it!

Suzanne Brockmann’s Tall, Dark and Dangerous Series is edgier and darker but oh, so sexy. I love me a good Navy Seal book and Brockmann does them so well! She makes me want to go sit on the beach in San Diego and Seal watch.

The Bluegrass Series by Kathleen Brooks is another series that is filled with quirky characters in a small town that you just want to visit again and again. And, if you’re like me and you’ve read this series, you’re wanting Ahmed’s story. Kathleen’s website says early 2014 so cross your fingers and stick it on your wish list!

One series I found recently that just had me laughing nonstop was Liliana Hart’s Addison Holmes series. Oh, Addison just cracks me up. Really, when she’s standing on the roof waving at Savage. Well, there’s just nothing funnier than that. Although, I have to admit, I’m a tad worried about her drinking. If you haven’t read this series yet, grab it soon! It’s hysterical.

Lori Ryan writes contemporary romance and romantic suspense. She is frequently ranked in the top 100 romantic suspense authors on Amazon.com. To find her work, visit http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00CFUKD1E.


Prize is a $25 Amazon Gift Card. Contest is tour-wide, open internationally and ends Oct 21. Must be 18 years of age or older to enter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Those books you mention sound really good

  2. Sounds like a good read. I enjoyed the excerpt, thank you.


  3. I'm a Virgin River fan so I'll have to check out some of the other series you mention, Lori. And your book sounds like fun -- the except was tantalizing.

  4. This sounds like a great read! Your post made me want to read the book.



Thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog! I always love reading comments and getting to know my readers!

After some careful consideration, I've decided to become an award-free blog. Although I appreciate and am honored by each and every award I've received, your comments and friendship are enough award for me. Thank you all so much for your thoughtfulness.

Due to way too many spam comments, I disabled the Anonymous User comments. We'll see if this works, otherwise I'll have to go back to word verification.