Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Blog Tour: Death Before Decaf by Caroline Fardig (Review/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

About the Book

Genre: Cozy Mystery, #1 in A Java Jive Mystery Series
Publisher: Alibi (November 17, 2015)
Random House LLC

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.

After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.

The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.

My Review

After her fiancé cheats and steals from her, Juliet Langley pulls herself up out of despair and begins to repair her life. You have to love a heroine that doesn’t let herself stay down for long. She heads back to her hometown of Nashville and agrees to manage her old friend Pete’s coffee house, Java Jive. Pete recently lost his father and is more than happy to let Juliet take over the reins of the coffeehouse.

Unfortunately, it’s not easy for Juliet as the entire staff of Java Jive seems to hate her or, at the very least, have some deep resentments against her. Add that to the fact that Java Jive is losing money – Juliet has her work cut out for her.

One employee in particular seems to dislike Juliet and takes every opportunity to oppose her. He’s not happy at all at having to take orders from anyone, let alone Juliet. They get into a huge fight. Later, Juliet stumbles upon his dead body. All eyes turn towards Juliet as being the prime suspect. Juliet takes it upon herself to clear her name.

Juliet is a great amateur sleuth. She juggles her work with her investigation and even has a little romance on the side. However, her new romantic guy is not all he claims to be. After experiencing one bad relationship, she has no intentions of getting mixed up in another.

The characters in this book are very well developed. Besides Juliet, Pete is another favorite character of mine. I hope to see more of him in the next book.

The mystery took a few twists and turns along the way. I wasn’t quite sure how it would all turn out and I was surprised at the ending. This is a quick read – a real page turner filled with not only mystery, but quite a bit of humor. So many scenes had me LOL. Sort of a cross between cozy mystery and chick lit. I’ll definitely be looking for more books by this author.

For reading challenges:

2015 Foodies Read Reading Challenge
2015 NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
Where are you reading? challenge (Tennessee)

FTC Disclosure: NetGalley provided me with a copy of this book to review for this blog tour. This did not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author

Caroline Fardig is the author of Death Before Decaf and the Lizzie Hart series. She worked as a schoolteacher, church organist, insurance agent, funeral parlor associate, and stay-at-home mom before she realized that she wanted to be a writer when she grew up. Born and raised in a small town in Indiana, Fardig still lives in that same town with an understanding husband, two sweet kids, two energetic dogs, and one malevolent cat.

Author Links

Purchase Links:

Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Yvonne, thanks so much for the great review, and for being a blog tour host! I appreciate it!

  2. Great blog...thank you for introducing me to another authore and great reading adventure!

  3. This book sounds like a really goog read!
    Great review!

  4. This book sounds like a really goog read!
    Great review!

  5. I love that title. I'd be dead if I was fueled by decaf! LOL Sounds like a fun one and a new cozy author for me.

  6. Got to have my coffee with caffeine. If I don't it's like a mule kicked me in the head. Thanks for review of this author and book. I am sure I will be adding it to my to be read list.

  7. I'm so glad to hear that the characters in this book are well developed and the mysteries had twists and turns. I have this in my TBR pile and I'm looking forward to it.

  8. I adore the title and feel much the same way when it comes to coffee! This sounds like a fun cozy. I love a heroine that picks herself up and rebuilds her life.

  9. Great review. Makes me want to read this book.


Thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog! I always love reading comments and getting to know my readers!

After some careful consideration, I've decided to become an award-free blog. Although I appreciate and am honored by each and every award I've received, your comments and friendship are enough award for me. Thank you all so much for your thoughtfulness.

Due to way too many spam comments, I disabled the Anonymous User comments. We'll see if this works, otherwise I'll have to go back to word verification.